Daily prompt.

Here is what everybody else did with this – Reincarnation: do you believe in it?

Short answer – No.

Long answer and my reasons. This is in no way meant to disparage what you believe in. And my answer has not much to do with the fact that I’m Christian rather than Hindi or Budist. It has more to do with how I see this life we all get to life regardless of race, colour or creed.

Why don’t I believe in reincarnation? Mostly because I have no wish to come back as ANYTHING! I don’t want to come back. Once this suck heap is done, I want to be done with living. I’ll go through the motions and live as best I can, for as long as I can, but please. No more!

The idea that if you screwed up in this life you get to live another one where you can maybe fix it? But you don’t remember the previous life – makes no sense. How are you supposed to fix an issue if you don’t even know what it is? Or, if you screwed up too much, you some back as poison ivy or something. To start the whole process all over again, until you get it right.

I do believe in karma – that stuff does work. But there’s nothing really spiritual about it. It’s a question of, what you put out in the Universe will be returned to you, and it’s been proven time and again.

To my way of thinking. You get one life. To screw up as you will. Regardless of what you believe in, good people don’t generally screw up or cause the death of others or maim animals or steal stuff. They try and live their life to the best of their ability, and then, one day, they die. To go to whatever heaven they think they’re going to. Or they just take a long dirt nap. Which is what I would prefer. Just nothingness.

Probably because I don’t want to pay for the sins I did commit, but don’t feel quite deserving enough to go to an actual heaven!

The idea of a loved one maybe coming back in the guise of somebody or something else just smacks of unresolved issues. If you want to say “I love you” one more time, say it. Does not matter if that person is still here or not – it’s just for you that you’re saying it in any case. We all have regrets – it’s a rare human that does not. But living with those regrets all the time only halts you, never brings anything good.

I’ve lost family. Do I want them to come back? Can’t say that I do. I remember them always, they’re a part of my life in so many levels, even after a number of years, I don’t need them to come back. I’ve made my peace with the fact that they’re gone, me crying and moaning about it is not going to make any difference to it.

So, to live your life as if you’re going to come back again, and again, and again, ad infinitum, fills me with dread.

I would suggest you live the best life you can here on Earth. Live as if it was your last. Do the best you are able, be as happy as it’s possible for you to be.

Who knows what waits on the other side? I certainly don’t…

23 comments on “Daily prompt.

  1. I read something beautiful recently about this, to paraphrase badly it said something like ‘imagine a beautiful flower growing a cliff above a deep blue ocean. Picture a drop of water on the leaf of that flower. That is us, and our lives. We are individual drops of water. When that drop of water falls into the ocean, that’s what happens when we die’
    So, that drop of water will never be the same drop of water again, but it kinda lives on and then my head explodes from thinking about that too much.

    • I can quite imagine – that will cause some deep thinking!!
      But it’s also true – everything we do affects lives around us in some fashion – the trick I suppose is to have fewer negative effects than positive ones 😉
      Thanks for the read and the comment!!

  2. Sometimes I wish some of the family members who have passed away could come back – but not for me. I want them to be able to meet the important people in my life they didn’t get a chance to meet, and vice versa…

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Karma Chameleon – Having karmic problems? Why not “Re-Ink Your Re-Inc” today before it’s too late – we’re waiting for your call! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Once I’m dead, I’d like to just spend my days peacefully in the dirt. I have absolutely no desire to return to this world, especially because it just seems to be going downhill

      • Well, well, well, I’ve finally come across a person who doesn’t think that it’s insane to donate organs. My dad isn’t keen on the idea at all, he feels a body that should be buried/ashed whole, hopefully I’ll have another next of kin when my time comes. What do you think of just donating your whole body for medical research?

      • I don’t think I want to do that – I know what they do with bodies that has been donated for medical research. I’ve read many Patricia Cornwells 😉
        But they must please take whatever organ they want, and my family is well aware of my DNR request as well.
        Don’t keep me alive with machines – just let me go.

    • Oh, I’ve thought about it. For a long time. But I’ve come to the conclusion that I would really rather prefer to reach my nirvana here and now. Not after I’ve lived many years with the same soul.Then again, apparently I’m an old soul, so maybe I’m on my last run 😉
      You’re right though – it’s not something that easily sorted at all.
      Thanks for the read and the comment!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Karma Chameleon … The answer is in your faith | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  6. Pingback: IN HER OLD AGE « hastywords

Leave a Reply

