Freedom

Do we realise how precious it really is?

Good day good people. Been a while since I posted, thought I’d take it up again. Too many thoughts in my head, nobody to listen to them.

I’m working through the Marvel movies while I have a bit of time to waste, and something the mad German scientist said struck a chord.

He said that Hydra was of the opinion that people are not capable of handling their freedom and, as such, said freedom should be taken from them. But when that was tried, people balked. They would not willingly give up their freedom.

So, a different strategy was decided upon. One where people would willingly give up their freedom in order to feel safe.

Fast forward to reality and we live in a world of surveillance. It’s not a conspiracy theory. We are being watched every day of our lives. Some of it comes from the government, some we do ourselves. Every post on any platform becomes public property, there for all to see – why else post anything online if not to be seen and heard?

Are we then already giving up our freedom?

The gps on your phone tracks you 24/7, ostensibly to notify help if you are in an accident, but it can be used by nefarious characters just as easily.

You save your data on the cloud to keep it safe, but nothing is really safe anymore – data on the cloud is just as hackable as your home server.

You send messages on groups using whatsapp with your number there for all to see and use, and they do. These crypto people drive me nuts!

Back to freedom.

How free are we really?

I think I’m a bit more free in certain instances where I live than maybe people in the States or China because, well things don’t quite work as well in Africa as it does in other places, but still. My freedoms have been curtailed to a degree thanks to the colour of my skin, and I’ve been bullied on a whatsapp group – not something that I liked all that much.

So I hide in my house. Work there, craft there, entertain there – my freedom gone. I’m very careful of what I post on the platforms I frequent, almost never speak to people, mainly because I apparently don’t know how to…

Am I giving up my freedom fo be safe? And if I don’t, what will happen to me?

Something to think about…

Leave a comment