Oh woe is me!!!

Let me set the scene.

A forty something woman. Not too much money. Going through a kind of tough time. Five seconds of headwinds, and she’s ready to throw in the towel, call it quits, run away.

You have the general mindset of the person in question?

Yesterday I was over the moon because the pond did not leak.

Get home this afternoon. Different story. Right then and there I saw all these things that has to be done once again, water wasted, plants wasted, time wasted…

I get out of the car where I parked it, feeling super despondent because after everything I did it’s still not working the way it should.

Walk past the outside tap. I hear water running. The tap is closed. Why would water be running?

And then I realise what happened.

This morning, the dogs needed water. So I uncoupled the hose from the tap to fill up their waterbowl. And I did not put the hosepipe back on the tap. With the other end still in the dam, and this end out in the open, it created some kind of suction, and that’s why the pond lost water today.

To say I wanted to kick my own ass would have been an understatement!! Of all the stupid, unthinking things to do!! I saw myself filling up that damn pond tonight!! With dirt, not water!!

AArghh!!!!

Oh well.

All is not lost. Just put water in again, and made sure the hose is still connected to the tap. Will remove the other end in the morning, and then everything should be just hunky-dory 😉

Looked at some sites on how to make my own submersed bio-filter – looks relatively simple. Just hope I won’t need two pumps, but time will tell if I do need anything else.

Let me leave you with the wise words of Alice Cooper. Not my best band, but some of their tunes are somewhat cool 😉

 

22 comments on “Oh woe is me!!!

  1. Why did I click on “like”? Listen up, kiddo (now that I know I’m old enough to be your mom, hope it’s okay to call you kiddo), I clicked like because I do things like that, so does everyone else. Live and learn. Nothing not human about it. And, yes, you did figure it out!! Doubt I would have. My hat is still way off to you. 😉

    • Quite all right to call me kiddo Paulette 😉
      My dude sometimes called me that, so it’s all good!!
      I’m just happy that it was an easy fix – and that I managed to figure out what the cause was before I did something drastic!!
      Boy, did I feel sheepish!!

  2. Oh man, but I’m at least glad that it was easy to fix, chicka. Now how about a warm bubble bath to relax after a day’s work:-)

  3. Why is it that we laugh or smile at the misfortunes of others; like when they trip on the pavement, or leave the hosepipe in the pond and the other end out in the open..!?!
    Forgive me, Ghia, I can feel your frustration….!!! You’ve been at this for such a long time; you must have felt like kicking the darn thing to eternity….
    I only hope it’s not a ‘never ending story’…. I’d love to see it (the pond) happy and working just as you hope…
    Cheer up, it could be worse. Imagine if someone else had done this; you’d be wanting to throttle them…! 😉

    • I’m sure I’ll laugh about this one day Carol – all part of the pond saga!!
      last night though, I could not. Felt very sheepish to say the least!!

  4. In “Stranger in a Strange Land,” the hardest part was learning and understanding our sense of humor. He finally gets it while watching a monkey trying to snag a banana by piling up boxes and attempting to climb them only to fall back down – his first genuine laugh, which leads him to understand we see ourselves in the hapless accidents to others, knowing it has happened to us and we didn’t find it funny at the time… that’s my memory of it anyway. Ghia, it is an ambitious project you undertook – ever built a pond before? In truth, you did it and the pond is holding – well done, mia! Along the way, those stupid, stupid things that happen – well, who the heck knows – good on you for figuring it out – and sharing, so we don’t do it! 🙂 I could show you all my t’shirts from “been there, done that, got the t’shirt,” but then I would have to …. Grin. It can only get better!

    • With every day that passes, we know more P 😉
      i felt a whole lot stupid last night, but also happy that it was not more serious 🙂
      I hope it will only get better – this weekend will see me building a submersible filter…
      Wish me luck!!

  5. Hello you, My first pond I made was next to the canal
    My back garden was part of the Canal in a place called Barnoldswick
    I made my pond out of cement took me ages
    I was going to catch my fish and put them in my pond
    But It was always leaking
    So I decided to myself can’t get better than a Canal
    I was only 21 at the time
    Today I would use a pond liner and catch the greatest catch of all
    It’s good to learn
    Especially from each other
    Have a beautiful tomorrow

    ╔╗
    ║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *
    ║╚╣║║║║╩╣* Daniel x*´¨`*•
    ╚═╩═╩═╩═╝.*.*

  6. This is will a story for you to tell and laugh at the same time in the future. It does happen and thank goodness no flooding. Tomorrow bet your bottom dollar tomorrow, will be better. 😛

  7. Oh dear. What a bad day D: Poor you.
    I’ve been reading all your posts about the pond from my Android phone for the last week, so know how much hard work you’ve been putting into this project. Sorry I haven’t commented on the posts, but my phone’s browser is incredibly slow. Please forgive me. I’m still with you every day and enjoying everything you write. Just finding myself rather time challenged at the moment. Will get myself back into my old blogging routine soon.

    • Time is a great stopper to blogging – I know!!!
      Thanks for sharing my tale of woe – but it all seems to be sort of working out – long may it last!!!
      Hope you get back in the swing of things soon Sarah – you are missed!

      • Ah, that’s added motivation to get back into a blog-reading routine. It’s always good and reassuring for people to know that they’re missed when they’re not there!

Leave a comment