Irritations…

They’re never big things.

They are, however, irritating.

Howdy folks. You are the honoured reciients of my first blog post in my new and improved and, above all, ordered study!! Took me three weeks to get it to the state it is currently in, but man was it worth it!! Everything in it’s place and a place for everything – a dream come true! Seems a lot of dreams coming true this year, but that’s for a year end blog πŸ˜‰

Back to my irritations.

I’ve been extolling the virtues of the iPhone since I got my first one in 2011. As far as I’m concerned, I will never use another phone. My iPhone does what it needs to do, when it needs to do it, with the minimum amount of fuss.

Sure, you have to download apps for this and apps for that, but once you have, you never have to worry about a single thing ever again.

In the more than three years, not a single person in my immediate circle changed to iPhones when their contracts were due. I have to wonder if it’s because people think I don’t know what I’m talking about or that I’m just not trustworthy. Be that as it may, they are ultimately the person that has to make the decision and live with it.

It so happens that my buddy Theo eventually went from Blackberry to iPhone. Of course he got the new iPhone6 of which I am slightly envious, but hey. It is what it is.

After he told me that he made the change, I offered my help. Gladly. Not because I’m so knowledgeable on all the usages of the phone, but because I want his experience to be as smooth as possible.

I get a call a while ago. “DO you know that I want to give back the iphone and get a blackberry?” I’m asked. Why would you do that?

Turns out he’s pissed because you can’t just tell the phone to use a song for a ringtone and it’s done. I knew about this, but honestly. How big of an issue is not having a specific tune as a ringtone? And it’s not insurmountable – there’s an app for that.

My notes did not copy correctly. Well, there’s an app for that too. You just have to do the research.

How do I get the flash to not flash all the time. Seriously? Never push buttons do you? Never wonder what this particular icon does?

Why is there no reminders on the calender? Dude!! Get real!! Of course there’s a reminder function on the phone!! You just need to look at the effing screen and press the bloody plus sign. It’s that easy.

Does it open Office docs? No. Probably not. Since you’re using an Apple device and not a windows device. How difficult is it to just open you internet browser and checking these things?

What apps do I need to download to get this phone to do the things an entry level Nokia can do. Suffice to say, I was slightly pissed at that remark. If you wanted an entry level Nokia, you should have gotten one.

So now, after he’s made the decision to get an iPhone as opposed to the Samsung, and he’s not happy with having to use iTunes because, according to him, it’s unfriendly, I get the blame for it?

Did I hold a gun to your head? Did I force you to get the phone? If you had doubts you should not have gone for it in the first place. But I’ll not let you blame me because you feel that not having your own ringtones on the phone as a big bloody deal!!

I don’t use my phone for office stuff. I don’t open office docs on the phone. That’s what I have a PC for. And the PC I currently have does not even have office on it, so I have to use the work PC for office files.

But I’m really pissed because his attitude is accusing. I will not be held responsible for a decision you made of your own free will. If you’re so weak that people can sway you, don’t make it my problem.

I don’t follow. I don’t lead. I just live my life as I see fit. If you choose to follow, bargain. But don’t blame me for the decisions you make while following!

To top it all, he’s a bloke. And they would rather die than ask for help it would seem…

How ever much unhappy he is with the iPhone, I’m still happy with mine.

And really. It’s just a phone. A communication device. That you’ve only had for the past few years. It’s replaceable, and ultimately, if you really wanted to, you could get along without it.

Really. The more I have to do with humans, the more I like my dogs!!

Hope your weekend was a good one, and the week to follow just brilliant!

13 comments on “Irritations…

  1. I just must respond. To me a phone is a phone, you make calls and your receive calls, you have a voice message function and that is that. For the rest the PC or the lappie. When I am out of the office I am out of the office and bugger the rest. Oh, it is hell of an easy to be normal, try it once.

    • H, I use my phone for more things than communication. I hardly ever get phone calls. Messages, sure, and with the new one, I have my mail client on there and FB and the WP app. But I love my phone. It’s got my books, my music, my pictures and it works.
      He’s just being difficult wanting to drag and drop using an apple device!!

  2. πŸ˜€ Oh Jaycee! They can get up one’s nose, can’t they! Whiners. He needs a dose of happy juice. Dr Me would suggest that he tries getting through 30 days – but let’s start with 24 hours – without making one single negative remark.

    Don’t let him cloud your day. πŸ™‚ iPhones are awesome. Me, I am still hurting about the Nokia they looted from my home in March, it had a fantastic camera and was easy to use, and they don’t make that model anymore, but mainly it’s the camera I’m hurting about. But hey, it all comes right in due time.

    • It’s brilliant to sit in the vamped up study G! I did not paint it or anything like that, and my bookshelves can do with a major do-over, but for now, I know where everything is. And that works brilliantly πŸ˜‰

  3. I need to clear up my room, it’s such a mess at the moment and I’m very tempted to use it as an excuse to not study… As for the phone, he just needs to get used to it. I’m sure he’d be complaining as well if he got the Samsung because it’s also quite different to a Blackberry

Leave a Reply

