gratitude.

Once a day, say thank you for all you have.

Be it small, be it big. Be it plenty, be it not. Be thankful.

Today, I have a long list of things to be thankful for.

I have a man that actually loves me – because and in spite of who I am, just as I am.

I have children that i can be proud of more often than not.

I have a roof over my head. That’s not leaking. It’s whole. It keeps the rain off my head.

I have a comfortable bed to sleep in.

I have food to eat every day.

I have my own transport, and the means to mostly keep said transport’s wheels rolling.

I have a family that shares in my woes and my joys alike.

I have all my senses. I am able bodied. I can read and write.

And the biggest thing I’m thankful for today – i have been made permanent at the place I’ve been working on contract for the past 7 months. Since 2011, when I got let go from the quack’s practice, I’ve never been able to work past the end of March. Or I’ve been working only as a contractor. Three jobs later, the third one’s the charm and it broke the run.

I baked cupcakes to take to work tomorrow. To say thank you for all those people for accepting me, without getting upset at me as so many has done before them, for allowing me into their circle and embracing me as one of the team. of course I took a different track in this job, I kept to myself mostly, spoke when spoken to, but laughed when in was required and needed. I kept a guard in front of my tongue, and I said thank you for the opportunity every day.

I wish I could give each of you a cup cake too. You guys have listened to me mope and cry and moan and groan for what seems like eons, but you stuck with me. Words of encouragement followed me, even when I did not feel as if I was really worth anything. Each and every one of you deserves the biggest, most decadent whatever you feel like. Red Velvet cake with cream cheese icing. Bacon cheese burger. Corn dogs with mustard. death by Chocolate ice cream. A root beer float. Whatever your heart desires, my dear friends, you deserve every bit of it. For being the people you are. the people that stood by me through it all – literally!

And another rendition of the same song with a bit more oomf!

 

10 comments on “gratitude.

  1. How utterly wonderful, J! Lovely to see you rewarded for merit and your hard work. Congratulations. Makes me heart expand to hear this. πŸ™‚ xxoo HuntMode

  2. Wowzer Ghia – you have just made my day and given me the best news of the day!! I am sooo glad you have been made permanent – I remember so well last year and how concerned you were over job prospects!
    A good year indeed!!!
    Have a wonderful weekend.

  3. ‘happy dance’ …
    YAY – congratumalations Ghia – it is all falling into place – wonderful news!

Leave a Reply

