Why oh why!!!

I can’t believe what I’ve gone and done!

Signed up for NaNoWriMo2013. Kinda nuts don’t you think? I don’t know where to start. Have all these ideas bubbling in my head, but I have to make sure I don’t come across as guache – the newbie, only fit to be laughed at!

The story is there. I know this. I’ve lived it. I’ve dealt with the things I plan to describe – in that sense what I have in mind will be almost biographical, without the dry facts and dates and general boringness.

Alas, since I AM a newbie, I don’t know where to start. I don’t know if I should just sit down and start writing. Should I have a chapter plan? Decide which tidbits I want to write about? Sex scenes? Never had any success with those – think I’ll have to get the kid to help me write them – I’ll just embellish using my own setting and his ideas. I’ve tried to write those before – but if it comes from my pen I want to hose myself at the prose so they’ve never really seen the light of day. Then again, I prefer leaving things to the imagination when I write. Not so much when I read. Then I want the whole kit and caboodle so I guess the readers would also want that. Going to have to just sit down and write that one a few times until I don’t sound dilly to myself πŸ™‚

I’m thinking some kind of plot planning won’t go amiss. I mean, regardless of who I write about, the fact is that this will be a love story. The one I want for myself, interspersed with bits from my Big Love Affaire with my dude, stuff that happened on my dating sprees, things I would like to experience, stuff I’ve struggled with…

Shit folks!!! My head’s been in a spin the whole day! Stomach in actual knots! This is so big, I might just disappear like a minnow down something bigger’s jaws, but I suppose it’s all in the experience not so? Once I have one down, the next one may go easier πŸ˜‰

Back to my life outside of WordPress though. It would seem that the youngest is also going to look for greener pastures. In Belgium where he used to live before with daddy dearest. Difference is, this time he’ll not be a schoolkid, he will have to look after himself. Luckily he still has his Belgian ID, and friends that side. Job already lined up, place to stay. Now for the passport and then he’s off like last year’s cheese. And I’m left completely alone.

I can still not begrudge them the opportunity. They have to go and spread their wings. Parents have to be left behind. It’s the way of the world. Does not mean I have to like it! Even though it’s a bit softer on my pockets when mom is not just a phone call away! i’ll miss my boys. They both reckon they’ll sponsor me to go and visit them – I’d like to see that happening! As long as they pay the cars that will be standing in my property, they don’t need to do anything else!

Back to November. Chances are, if I’m going to do 1667 words a day, I’ll be very scarce. I apologise for that beforehand. But if I’m going to do this, I have to do it full out. Not just bits and pieces here and there, but the whole hog. That’s three posts this size, every day. With only one topic. Yeah. I can see that happening! Be that as it may, nothing ventured, nothing gained, so i will venture and see what the gains are – other than even more grey hairs and wrinkles!!

Hope your day is happy folks πŸ˜‰

 

 

17 comments on “Why oh why!!!

  1. For what it’s worth, my friend, it sounds here like you’re off to a good start, writing about the gut-twisting process of writing for NaNo… I got nervous reading this from you, and trust me that’s the mark of good writing. From there it can flow wherever it does being a trigger to some life story or the unfolding process of mystery and perhaps the culmination of your last year, which had me on the edge of my seat with what’s going to happen to you. You’re a great writer, an engaging honest raw writer and I love reading yours-I think you could actually get away with a lot of free-association (Like Joyce & Faulker) or organized chapters like lots of others. This may be nerve wracking to you but from my view, I’m excited to see what comes. πŸ™‚

  2. Write one sentence of what is to happen in each chapter. You can use index cards or just cut up a sheet of paper into ten ‘cards’. Lay them out on the table afterwards and move them around into some kind of order. At least this will give you some form. You can use a notebook, but this way you can move things around at will. Give every chapter a title and name it (and number it) to keep yourself focused. This should minimize some of your panic. Also keep of list of characters as you add them into your story. This will help ground you so you don’t call Suzy, Molly rather into your writing.

    Go, Ghia, Go. πŸ˜‰

  3. Didn’t you say that you want to be a writer somewhere in your post? If you think you are a newbie then start as a newbie and then you grow….. Wonderful, Ms. G.

  4. Hooray! At long last you’re braving that novel I knew was in you πŸ™‚

    As for how you approach that first draft — there is no right or wrong way, but I can tell you how I do it, which is apparently how Stephen King does it, too!

    I think up an interesting character or two in my head (no notes); find some kind of dilemma to place them in; put a working title, my name, and page numbers on the right of the header; put the document in double-spacing; type Chapter One or a chapter title of some sort; then start typing, any old thing just to get going. I often end up dumping my first chapter or changing it radically, but not until I’m doing the second draft. I let the characters take over and lead me often down surprising avenues. It isn’t until I reach the middle of the novel that my characters usually reveal what the end will be, but when they tell me it’s a real huzzah moment. I do research as I go, jumping between google and my document (double-checking my facts by reading all the articles that come up in my search on a particular subject). If I can’t find what I want to know, I pick the brains of people I know, or just guess and check later, so as not to slow up the writing process. In my latest novel, I didn’t write any notes down apart from a timeline that was forced upon me about a third of the way into the book before I got in a terrible muddle, as well as jotting down a list of the main characters’ physical details, such as eye and hair colour.

    My tips for you, if you’re only giving yourself a month to write your novel, just get on with it and don’t be tempted to keep fiddling with it, correcting spelling and grammar, and trying to make it perfect. First drafts are never perfect, unless you’re a literary genius. Keep moving forward, apart from occasionally checking back to see what you said about a particular thing earlier in the story. If you’re really stuck getting underway for a writing session, it’s permissible to read what you wrote the day before, but no correcting if you do that. And don’t allow yourself to do any blogging or social networking until you’ve done your writing for the day, however tempting. Going on-line is strictly for book-relevant research. Take tea breaks, but not alcohol ones.

    Hope this helps. I’m happy to read bits if you want, or the whole thing when you’ve finished.

    Phew, that was a post in itself! Best of luck πŸ™‚

    • Indeed a post in itself Sarah πŸ˜‰
      I do appreciate the tips though. In actual fact, I’m going to print them out and keep them handy for when I lose steam!
      Main character already picked, and as I said, I’m going to write about what happened so far. Only difference is, this time the guy will keep coming back instead of keeping away – since this is the love story i want for myself. she will be a real person with real grey hair and real saggy boobs but with a head full of knowledge and wisdom. And the man in question will adore the grey hair and the saggy boobs and above all, the mind attached to them.
      Tonight I will read and comment on all posts, but from tomorrow I will only do the cursory thing. I’m going to only write at night – I still have to get the gifts done – can’t do those only when December hits. So daytime I will do all else, and nighttime I will write.
      Wish me luck!!!

      • Definitely wishing you luck:-) It sounds like a great idea for a novel. Not enough positive stuff written about intelligent people with grey hair and saggy boobs. And I hope you fall as in love with your man of romantic interest, as I’ve done with one of my characters in my latest novel. He has grey hair, a craggy face, chaotic teeth, and pointed ears, but he’s very eccentric, intelligent, and sexy!

  5. Sarahpotterwrites has it just RIGHT under her Tips paragraph. First draft, object of the game, get it done – perfection not needed. Write from the heart – and if it hurts, follow the pain or if it feels good – keep writing – keep writing – keep writing.

    It is a great sign that you’ve got butterflies – s’okay – keep writing, keep writing, keep writing!

Leave a Reply

