Not perfect.

But then, nothing ever is.

Started the advent calender today. How I wished for a band saw!! Or the very nifty little Dremel Moto-saw or some such. Unfortunately, my budget does not stretch quite that far. Yet. I’m hoping that, one day, I’ll be able to get at least two more tools from that range. Perfect for fine work. Much more so than my normal jigsaw. Therefore what I made is not quite as perfect as it looks in the picture. My arms are numb from the heavy equipment, and my poor wrists feel somewhat abused, but I’m mostly satisfied. A multitude of sins can be hid behind a coat of paint and some draping fabric. Have to make a plan with the doors though – looks like I’ll have to go and get something like balsa wood or some such for that. Hardboard just does not do what I need it to do. My hole saw fitting worked like a charm though, and I even got very good at using the jigsaw with my left hand. Might have to invest in some woodwork goggles for the left hand cutting – quite a dusty business all that cutting. And not something you want in your eyes I’d say!

Still. It came out better than expected if you take into account the tools and work surface I had at my disposal. Not quite as well kitted out as some DIY’ers at the moment. And only one slight injury and a bit of a banged thumb. And it’s mostly done. Just the doors, and depending on how thick the wood I get is, the hinges on the doors – either proper hinges or a piece of cloth on the inside of the door. Then the painting and decorating, and then the little pieces of chocolates that has to be wrapped in something, maybe tied with a bow, accompanied by a little piece of writing. And then I have to figure out a way to package and wrap it, seeing as it’s a Christmas gift, albeit one that will be opened on the first of December instead of the 25th.

Think a decent shower now, and then maybe go out and get some supper – to reward me for a job relatively well done! I took pics as the work progressed, all on my phone. When I get it downloaded to my computer I will upload them, just to prove that I have indeed been very busy today! But for now, I feel a great need to sink into some water. A jacuzzi would have been bliss right about now!! It’s a cold, dreary day outside, windy, and overcast – the perfect time to sink into something with hot bubbles, to soothe away the stresses of the week, getting ready for the next one. My fourth one at the new spot. And the second last one with some wind in the sails. In two week’s time I’m on my own. Sink or swim time. Let’s hope it still works at that time.

Hope your Sunday has been good to you…

And now a tune. The remix – always drives me to shaking what I can, no matter where I am. Hope you enjoy…

 

 

18 comments on “Not perfect.

    • Thanks P πŸ˜‰
      But wait until you see what it looks like before you get impressed – I’m afraid I’m not quite as good with these things as I’d like to be!

    • I think I’ll post it when it’s done and dusted – then you can see what I’ve done, how I’ve screwed up and how I’ve tried to fix the screw ups πŸ˜‰
      Glad you liked the tune – it’s one of my favourites!

  1. Quite a talent you have
    I’m not very good with woodwork
    But good in most other things
    Always trying to be perfect
    Wishing you a perfect new week

    β•”β•—
    ║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *
    β•‘β•šβ•£β•‘β•‘β•‘β•‘β•©β•£* Daniel
    β•šβ•β•©β•β•©β•β•©β•β•.*.*

Leave a Reply

