Day’s done.

Always be thankful for the little things.

Have to say, these past week or so have been quite scarce in blogging material. I see the people at work and as I get to know them, I’m getting a better picture of what it’s likely going to be like working there. A bit scary actually – the whole family business. Saw one of the workers today wash the old man’s truck with both a pressure washer and soapy water. Have to get all the grime off you know! since we’re going to be travelling through to Zambia and not Sandton. But, he’s king of all he surveys, and as such, all the minions will bow and scrape. it is, after all, what we get paid to do, not so?

All that aside, it has not been bad working there so far. But the real test will begin when the current chick goes off on Maternity leave and I have to carry on by myself. Still, I’m relatively confident that I’ll not screw up too much – got most of the things down the way they happen.

There was a stock query today. Logically I think I solved the problem. Alas, not many things work there as logically as I would have liked them to work. And I’m not quite in a position to change anything just yet. I mean. They have to order uniforms. Instead of having a price list, she takes all the orders, makes up a spread sheet and then goes to look for the prices on the old invoices. I would have made the price list in a spreadsheet with an acknowledgement of debt signature space at the bottom, give one to each staff member and let them decide what they want to order. Then collate it into one spreadsheet, and send that to the supplier. Let me not run away with this just yet. If she comes back from maternity leave I’ll be out of all of this again end January. If not, well, of course I can tweak things here and there. Only a while before I will know if I pass muster or not.

In the meantime, I’ve thought of such topics as accountability, about how people can misunderstand one another because of their own fears, about the role passion plays in a relationship – and if it is possible to keep that passion alive even after you’ve been together for a while. The topics are there. I just lack the words.

And maybe I’m becoming a bit boring in my new-found peace. I hope not!!

Until tomorrow then, I leave you with this…

16 comments on “Day’s done.

  1. Probably the right way to go to play the game entirely according to the old rules for the time being, but lay on the improvements for instant production when/if the time is ripe.

    • I’ve learned my lesson in that regard the hard way Col. Never say or do anything until you are 600% certain of the outcome and even then – be wary.
      That’s me these days – wary to a fault.

    • Awww, thanks P πŸ˜‰
      I do hope I’ll never be boring in my outlook!
      I’m relieved that the job is going well, but it’s getting closer to crunch time now and the nerves are beginning to bite. i stop them though – can’t be nervous and at peace at the same time – the two just does not mix!!

  2. Sometimes when there is nothing more to complain about, the person might get boring . . . but that we will leave for someone else entirely, for I know you’ll have opinions of everything till the day your coffin gets nailed shut! πŸ˜€ You’ll have the words one of these days, would like to comment on that subject!!
    Love the tune, of course! So much better than the STEPS version, me thinks . . . πŸ˜‰ Sleep tight, Kaereste!!

    • You’re so right – I have opinions on just about everything πŸ˜‰
      I’ll just wait until I know my subject matter a bit better and then i’ll let rip!
      I won’t often have a new version of tunes unless I feel the new one adds something to it, but I did not even know Steps did a remake of this one πŸ˜‰
      Bonne nuit mon ami.
      xx

  3. I’m so happy to know that for a while at least, you’re sailing in still waters. You’ve had enough storms and near shipwrecks to last you a long time. Have a great weekend. πŸ™‚ xx

  4. You summed up my own wish for me, J: “…It’s brilliant to be gainfully employed, earning my bread, making my way, and not being beholden to others for my well being. It’s good to be able to breathe a little easier…” And, you, you?, boring? Hah! Not a chance – with the easing of your life, it gives you a moment to lift your gaze and see what else needs straightening out, not so? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

