Based on a tune.

So, there I was, driving along.

And this song started playing. (translation to follow)

This post is not entirely based on the tune. The tune just brought the words I think.

Got a message from Mr P today. Just in general, asking how the new job is, and all that. Tells me that his ex is walking around with a huge diamond on the finger. Moving in with her new paramour next year February. Good for her. She’s quite clearly got something that dudes want. How does it work that some women have many relationships, some even ending in marriage, and inevitably, divorce, but they do it again and again and again seemingly without any hassles.

What do they have that I don’t?

I am not the helpless little female that always needs help. Not the shrinking violet that makes a man feel big and manly. Not the placating sort that will never quibble about anything. I don’t cry and perform when things go wrong. I blog about it and one way or the other get it sorted – mostly on my own. Other people do not have to solve my problems for me. Other people don’t have to rake my burning issues out of any fires. I do it myself. is it because of these reasons that I only ever find the useless men?The ones that is not prepared to spend more than a message on me. it means that I find the Porras that only contacts me when he’s got an itch that he wants me to scratch. It means that the men I do meet only ever see the intimidating, complicated, able female, but never the woman.

Have to say, I’m somewhat miffed about this. Not that I begrudge anybody their happiness. Never that. It’s just that I sometimes want somebody that laments my absence as much as I do theirs. That, in the words of the song, fights for a place in my life instead of the other way around. And the sad thing is, should I meet such a man, I would have been made so hard in this stupid game that I won’t even let him fight the good fight – because I’m not prepared to put my own feelings on the line if it’s not going to be reciprocated. Silly situation, but there you have it.

The Human Condition in a nutshell – silliness.

Oh well, as the saying goes, there are many fish in the sea, and what with all these older women dating younger men, my knight might still be in nappies for all I know. Or maybe just finishing school now 😉

And, as always, life goes on, and so will I, with everlasting hope in my heart for a reprieve one day…

 

And now, the words and an attempt at a translation for you.

 

Mariëtte se Wals                                                                Mariette’s waltz

Woorde en Musiek : Piet van Wyk de Vries                          Words and Music – Piet van Wyk de Vries

Wat van ‘n wens                                                                  What about a wish

Gefluister in my oor?                                                            Whispered in my ear

Jou grootste geheim het geglip deur jou lippe                         your biggest secret, slipped through your lips

En ek het gehoor                                                                 And I heard

Wat van ‘n traan                                                                  What about a tear

Geknip uit jou oë?                                                               Cut from your eyes?

Ek het geveg vir ‘n plek in jou lewe                                        I fought for a place in your life,

En ek het verloor                                                                 And I lost

 

So wat van ‘n wals Mariëtte?                                                So, will you waltz Mariette?

Ek wou jou vertel van die sterre                                             I wanted to tell you about the stars

Ons almal het vlerke maar ons                                              We’ve all got wings, but we

Hardloop hier rond op die grond                                             Run around here on the ground

Aan die stap sonder spore                                                    Walking without tracks

Maar jy Mariëtte                                                                  But you, Mariette

Kan dans tot jou hart breek en steeds                                   Can dance till your heart breaks and still

Kyk na die liggies daar bo                                                    See the lights above

En wonder wat hou jou hier onder                                          And wonder what’s keeping you down here

Aan die slaap sonder drome                                                 Sleeping without dreams

Vanaand Mariëtte                                                                Tonight Mariette

Is al wat ons het                                                                  Is all we have

Hierdie wals                                                                        This waltz

 

Wat van ‘n blom                                                                   What about a flower

Gevang in ‘n raam?                                                               Caught in a frame

So het ek jou vas probeer skilder aan my                               So I tried to paint you close to me

Maar jy’t weg gegaan                                                           but you went away

Wat van ‘n kans                                                                  What about a chance

Om vir oulaas te dans?                                                        To dance for old times’ sake

Om nog een keer die wêreld vir jou te kan wys                       To show you the world, one last time

En te hoop jy verstaan                                                         and hope that you understand

 

So wat van ‘n wals Mariëtte ?                                                So will you waltz Mariette?    

Ek wou jou vertel van die sterre                                              I wanted to tell you about the stars

Ons almal het vlerke maar ons                                               We’ve all got wings, but we

Hardloop hier rond op die grond                                              Run around here on the ground

Aan die praat sonder woorde                                                  Talking without words

Maar jy Mariëtte                                                                    but you Mariette

Kan dans tot jou hart breek en steeds                                     Can dance until your heart breaks and still

Kyk na die liggies daar bo                                                      See the lights above

En wonder wat hou jou hier onder                                           And wonder what’s keeping you down here

Aan die slaap sonder drome                                                   Sleeping without dreams

Vanaand Mariëtte                                                                 Tonight Mariette

Is al wat ons het                                                                   Is all we have

Hierdie wals                                                                                                 This waltz.

Long days and pleasant nights…

 

23 comments on “Based on a tune.

    • Or I might just be too picky? I dunno P, but whatever else, at least I’ll know it when I see it 😉
      Hope you could listen to the tune – it really is quite a soothing melody, even if the words make no sense to you…

    • Somebody said the other day it;s about attitude AD – maybe my demeanour is not quite as princess like as the dudes would want it to be in order to be the shining knight 😉
      But hey – he might be out there somewhere, and knock me off my feet before I know it 🙂

  1. Hello you,
    Your Knight will sweep you of your feet
    He knows you love him and you can’t be beat
    Have a beautiful tomorrow
    Daniel x

    • A very good question that P.
      I’ve been on my own so long I won’t know what to do with a male if he had to be with me all the time!!
      Then again, if he’s worth knowing, maybe I do want him for keeps. And if he can waltz with me so much the better!!
      And the job is thankfully going just fine thanks P – I can see myself doing this for a long time 🙂

  2. You and me both, Kaereste. Perhaps it’s something that we give off, or lack, for thinking objectively, ‘love’ is formed by chemical reactions to inspire age old traditions . . . I’ve begun to lose that track and is now following Howl’s Castle across the wastes 🙂 Well, I guess people these days don’t see the person anymore . . . Everything is as superficial as can come. I guess I need to write a letter again. The last time was awesome. Sorry, did not listen to the song, don’t listen to Afrikaans music, though the translated words are beautiful 🙂 Have a glorious weekend, Kaereste!!

    • As a rule I don’t listen to Afrikaans music either. But this song kind of grabbed me when I heard it last night. you should do yourself a favour and listen to it.
      As for the rest – you have time. And I know that what needs to happen, will – it’s been written on our cards long since…

  3. There’s nothing wrong with you. Just haven’t met the man with enough grit to appreciate your big personality and individualism. Maybe a young man would be just the ticket. I’ve heard that Nordic men aren’t averse to the older woman thing 😉 I know of a seventeen year-old Dane who had an affair with a 49 year-old English woman.

    • In my experience, the Nordic men that comes to Africa would rather take the African ladies than one slightly used whitey 😉
      But yes, a young man, or rather, a younger man, might not be all that bad. There might just be one out there that’s not a wimp 🙂
      I doubt there’s anything wrong with me as such, I might just not appeal to the dudes out there these days. They do seem kind of wimpy 😉

  4. Ah, G, I’m afraid we made ’em wimpy over the last 30 years by b**ch-slapping ’em every time they did something white knightish. Mind, I didn’t, but a lot our age group, at least in the States, certainly did – silly stupid cows. I am pleased to say I held out for the knight, and he did come, if only for a short time before he died – I would not trade that time for any thing or anyone! If a new one comes, fantastic – if not, I shall find something else to do. Grin.

    • they do it today still P. I took on a little girl that told my son not to open her car door for her. Told her that if he wants to, let him. I teach them manners and the silly chits can’t appreciate that!
      Maybe I had my knight, albeit one with a somewhat tarnished armour 😉
      For a while he was mine and I was his and we were happy. I might have to be happy with that…

      • Tarnished armour is a feature, not a bug – as they say. 🙂 Mine certainly was tarnished – but I always thought if a knight was any good, i.e., survived the engagements, he’d almost certainly have to be tarnished. 🙂

Leave a Reply

