On the past…

…and reminders thereof.

So. Today has ended. Traffic was incredibly kak, as it usually is. For my English only readers, the work “kak” in its literal sense means shit. It can also be used for many other expressions mainly of disgust, as I used it just now. You can be a kak, act like one – you get mu drift. Quite the appropriate word in many situations.

At least I won’t have top deal with kak traffic in the near future. For which I’m preparing with a shopping trip as discussed yesterday. And tomorrow, at work, it looks like we’ll be having a bit of a braai. That would be a BBQ for the rest of you. Since it’s my last day, one of the young dudes had a b day in the week, the boss man is coming back from Athens – just a celebration I suppose.

Back to the heading. Get a whatsapp from Mr P this afternoon. Do I still want the fish tanks and the fish? Sure I say. Just let me know when I can come and pick them up. End of discussion. suppose I could actually now go and sit down and inspect this unlikely and quite unexpected missive from the king of keeping it cool, but I ain’t gonna. Not really worth the effort, and when all is said and done, Β is it going to make one bit of difference? Not quite.

And then, while I was navigating the Kyalami gauntlet, there’s this Jeep. Has to be driven by a woman – can’t seem to figure out what the right hand pedal is supposed to do. So I swing from one lane to the next, jumping in front of this idiot driver and it keeps on flashing lights. I ignore it. The flashing continues. When I did look in the mirror, turns out it’s one of the dudes I worked with at the previous company. A dude. Driving like a woman – I was quite disgusted. But it was nice seeing him again πŸ˜‰ Told me what’s changed and so on and so forth – via whatsapp of course. And I told him he drives like a woman. Par for the course really – he’s originally from Cape Town. That place of the mountain and good weed and beaches and stormy seas, but the world’s kakkest drivers!!

The weather is warming up nicely. Still chilly in the mornings and evenings, but the days, although windy, is filled with the smells of spring. Jasmine and brush fires. Manure and lilacs. Blossoms all over the place, fish that looks kind of alive when I feed them in the afternoon. Yes folks, not too long and we’ll be living in sweltering summer again, everything sweaty and tanned, braai smells every weekend, sounds of cricket from the TV’s – almost. It’s about time too! Feels like I’ve been cold for months. I’m sorry to say that you guys in the Northern Hemisphere are moving into winter – can’t be helped I’m afraid, but you’re more than welcome to come and spend time in the suck heap. The country might suck, but the weather never does – the government can’t touch it see!

Hope your day is well spent, and your evening filled with well deserved rest…

It’s been a while since we listened to The King – hope you like this one!

 

13 comments on “On the past…

  1. Loved that the government can’t touch nothin’ of this here weather of ours . . . πŸ™‚ I never seem to take notice of the people surrounding me when I drive, when I did, in fact, but I love traffic, completely opposed to your dislike . . . Though driving with you and A always entertained, scared and thrilled me all at the same time. Never quite met anyone with this acute sense of kak road rage!! xoxo

  2. Yes indeed…..thank God the ANC can’t siphon off the weather and charge us for the privilege! As for Mr P and his fish tank,tell him that there’s plenty more fish in the sea. πŸ™‚

    • Och, Mr P – can go fly. Luckily I’m not too bothered by him. As you say – many fish in the sea!! Fact that I keep on missing the good catches, not so good, but there may just still be ONE good man out there!

Leave a Reply

