Should I…

…shouldn’t I…

that would be the question for today. Regarding god not liking jeans…

Suppose I might as well, don’t have much else to write about other than the fact that the newest addition to the family have been sleeping outside every night for the past week with nary a squeak from him. Even cries to go outside when he’s inside and the door’s closed – works for me. When I let him come in on Sunday night he shat in the house 5 times!! After being outside the whole day! Got a hiding for that, and since then he’s been a happy chap outside.

Back to the jeans thing.

When I heard about it, after I asked what the dress code is, I was kind of miffed. Not that I need to wear long jeans in summer, but I do like wearing them – they’re comfortable if nothing else. i don’t know the guy’s reasoning behind not liking jeans. Don’t know if it’s just jeans on women that he dislikes (it would make sense if I’m correct in my initial view of him) or if he thinks jeans are not office wear. This I will only find out when I start working there. If he does not like jeans on females, he will probably have an issue with my toe rings. And my tattoos. And my red toe nails.

What I’m going to do to stop this from being an issue? I’ll go shopping!!! I’ll exercise my feminine right and go spend money that I don’t really have, but I will act as if it’s not an issue, and I will go shopping for little ballet slippers – no toe rings or red toenails to be seen. I’ll get a few more skirts, long ones, and a few blouses with three quarter sleeves. I’ll look all feminine and flowery.

Of course it’s not going to damage me in any way shape or form to be all feminine and flowery. Not at all. it won’t do my image any damage. No sirree! Not that I never wear skirts and dresses, I do, more often than people think. They are almost more comfy in summer than pants are truth be told, but I do have a butch image to uphold as well!

Now, basing my initial reaction on the fact that I think this man has been king of his particular crap heap for a very long time, and give him his due, it IS his crap heap and not mine, I think between me and him we both have a lesson to learn. In tolerance. in not judging a book by its cover. In never assuming that you are correct. And for me in particular, how to keep my true feelings from becoming yet another hurdle in my life’s path.

If you see me for the first time, without having read me, or had any interaction with me beforehand, I will probably come across as quite brash. The red nails, some think, are slutty. Toe rings, some think, are evil. Tattoos, many think, slutty, evil, stupid, sacrilege. I am, however, neither slutty, nor evil, nor sacrilegious. I just like having nice looking feet, and I do that by looking after them and painting my toe nails red. And I like tattoos. What can I say. I’m not possessed. I’m just a little weird.

Maybe I, in seeing him for the first time assumed that he was anal. I presumed, from the vibes I got from him that he’s the kind of man that thinks women should be barefoot and in the kitchen. Or something. I could be wrong. I could be so completely far off the mark it’s not even funny. Maybe I’m using my past experiences to colour this situation all wrong. Only time will tell…

I will get to know him starting on Monday. I’m as apprehensive as all get out about this – for the first time in about 3 years I’m going to be doing an actual job. Not a little filler here and a side effect there, an actual job. Where I will make use of my mental faculties in a way that I have not had to do in quite a long time. I can only hope that it will go as it needs to go – I need to make a success of this, even if it’s only for five months. It’s part of my road and I have to tackle it with vim and vigour, and make it work as best I can πŸ™‚

And now, a few songs…

Long days and pleasant nights…

 

19 comments on “Should I…

    • I also hope that I will not allow my past experiences to make this too awkward for me P. I’m sure it will be good for me to get back in the proper workforce once again – I just have to stick to it and bit my tongue!!
      The young man is quite happy with his companion outside πŸ˜‰

  1. Nothing wrong with your red toe nails and tattoo, Ms. g. The way I see it, when I was working in a different field, there is a dress code, no jeans, dress pants or pant suits are okay. I did not even thing that the men who run the business world has the upper hand, it’s business. Since I want to stay employed, I have to abide by the rule.

    Good luck with your shopping.

    • All very true P. I’ll not do anything to compromise the situation – as I said, I’ll use it as an excuse to go shopping πŸ˜‰
      And yes. I need to work, they want me to dress a certain way – them’s the breaks…

  2. It’s so much easier wearing a uniform to work. But, yes, I suppose you have to abide by your employer’s rules if you want to keep your job.

    Painted toenails are cool. Mine are bright rose pink. One of my friends paints each of her toes and each of her fingernails a different colour.

    • They have something of a uniform Sarah, but I’ll only be a part of that should they make me permanent. Until then, I’ll have to wear my own stuff so I’d better hop to it and get the shopping done πŸ˜‰
      I’ve not progressed to a different colour for each nail, might not ever get there, but it looks cool on the girls that can pull it off πŸ˜‰

  3. My work experience is the same as Seeker. I retired almost seven years ago and I worked with engineers. They FLIPPED when they notice I wore blue and sometimes purple toenail polish in summer. Ha ha.

  4. There is going to be an interestingly fine line here between doing what is necessary to hold what seems like the best job prospect going, and becoming a carpet.
    I always recommend the unemotional question approach to anything becoming confrontational. ‘Why do you prefer it done that way? Isn’t it possible that another way is better? Have you tried this solution? So are you saying that it isn’t based on logic but that you simply prefer it that way personally?’ etc. It is amazing how a new question prompted by each response, avoiding making statements, will leave one with the initiative.

  5. I think it comes down to be told what to wear that is the problem. I worked in law offices and they do insist on an image – on the other hand, what if they told you only jeans, no skirts and only boots – no showing off those lovely toenails?!

    • Well, that was done in Iraq and I did not like it much there either.
      As I said to Col – time to just keep quiet and ford the swells until I know what’s potting πŸ™‚

  6. You on loving having your red toe nails, makes me think of a Sandra Bullock movie, All About Steve, where she lashed at no one in particular that why she wear her red boots all the time, is that they make her toes feel like ten kids on a hiking trip. πŸ˜‰ My first impression of you the first time I saw you were, “Oh my God, an artist, a gypsy? I’m gonna love that woman even though her son told me to be cautious, and subsequently scared shitless . . . πŸ˜€ It was the hair and the bag!

    • I think only young people can really appreciate what I’ve got going πŸ˜‰ Thanks young man – it makes this old heart warm up quite a bit – at least it was a good first impression πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

