Tonight…

images

 

 

A Poem

 

Looks like I miss you tonight.

Can’t say why, I just do.

Usually, without reason,

a thought would cross my mind.

And I’ll miss you.

 

I’ll miss that I felt safe with you.

That I felt cherished when you were next to me.

I’ll miss the timbre of your voice.

The touch of your hand.

 

I’ll miss that you cared about my health.

That you worried about my well being.

I’ll miss that you loved me.

I don’t miss that I loved you.

 

I still do. Probably always will.

Just the way things are I suppose.

You find one person.

Just one that knows the song of your soul.

 

and never again will that song be heard.

Different ears, different wave lengths.

And I could speak.

And know you heard it. Heard me.

 

 

20 comments on “Tonight…

  1. Missing someone is hard to get through . . . it’s like your mind is keeping you mind-locked at the last place you were happy, a checkpoint altering your sense of time completely. After which I had always felt drained. Get it out πŸ˜‰

    • You know young man, my life is not all bad. Not all good, but not all bad. But often, I just feel so lost without the tether of him. It’s been gone for a long time, but the memories still have the power to transport me, and sort of make me think that if it happened once, maybe it could happen again – and it just never does. Think that’s the saddest of all.

    • I’m probably kidding myself with thinking that anything could go back to be what it was, but still, I always have hope, and sometimes, a dream πŸ™‚

  2. Wow, great poem. I kept thinking it’d make a great song. Agree with what Tess wrote about the yearning. So well done, Ghia! You’re really great at getting your point/emotions across. πŸ™‚ ps I’m with you on hope and sometimes, a dream. So was John Lennon! πŸ˜‰

  3. “never again will that song be heard”…?
    Yes, Ghia, but you never step into the same river twice. Because the river keeps changing, hey.
    The soul-song that was so meaningful THEN has changed. Not only for him, but for you too. He probably wouldn’t recognise your song now even if he was Beethoven. So on with the dance… (?)
    I think there are many different songs of the soul. And each one has its own time……
    Take care.

    • You’re right D. The soul’s song does change. And you can never cross the same river twice as Granny Weatherwax says.
      On with the dance? I’ve tried many dances D. Many different songs too. Many. And they just never seem to be all that much worth it.
      Think I should leave the dancing for a while, and just relish the memories I have. At least those were all good, even though it makes me miss something that could never be again.

Leave a Reply

