Time travel…

Would you?

I’m watching an episode of Supernatural where Cas sends Dean and Sam back to 1978 to save their mom and dad from an avenging angel.

Sam meets his mom, unlike Dean that has had that painful pleasure once before. Of course, Mom does not know they’re her sons from the future, but the sons knows that very well.

Lots of emotions wrapped up in seeing a mother you never knew because she died when you were still a baby.

If you had the chance to travel back in time to come face to face again with a loved one long lost, would you?

I’ve been thinking about that kind of thing lately.

If only…

I could go back to before Rusty died and maybe save his life. Go back to before my father died and saved us all a lot of misery. Even try and go back and save myself from making a few mistakes along the way.

Then again.

Everything that happens to you, makes you the person you are now. Every sad thing helps you to understand that sadness in somebody else. The happiness you had serves to enable you to help somebody else find that happiness. Your sad days, your happy days, your tears – every experience you have helps you along the way. Does not make the journey any easier, but I doubt that that is what it’s about.

Since I have no earthly idea if I still even have a goal still left to accomplish, I have to surmise from my continued existence that I might still have something left to do, even if only to make my life as bearable to me as possible.

Once, my dude said to me that he wished we’d met 20 years earlier. Sometimes I wished that too. To have known him for longer than just a few months would have been good to me. Alas. I would not have been the person I am now, 20 years ago. I would not have been able to appreciate the nuances of life had I not experienced the sadness and joy.

Time travel.

Nice to think about it. Nice to wonder what would have been possible had you been able to go back in time. To a time when life was softer.

Always nice to escape the harsh realities of life as we know it by a little daydreaming not so?

Hope your Sunday is a good one…

28 comments on “Time travel…

  1. I think if I did go back in time, it would be on two separate occasions with two very dear little pets. I would like to have been able to hold them in my arms when they passed…

    • That’s not something I think I could ever do Esperanza.
      But yes, I suppose it’s our regrets that would make us want to go back more than anything else…

  2. There’s many things in the past that I’d like to change but if I could go back, I wouldn’t go back to change things, I’d just want to go experience life in the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s

  3. Ummm, I’m always a bit torn on this one. We’d go back as we are today and see people from this perspective – would we love them the same or see them differently?

    • Good question that P. maybe we would love them differently, but I think, if you have loved somebody before, you will probably continue to love them, no matter your current state of mind.

  4. Travelling in space is what I want, present and future, not backwards. Supernatural is a Canadian show and it’s very entertaining. Have good week.

      • No question, Dean is da man! The other is just a tad too sensitive for my taste, but an excellent foil for Dean – though I really want to do something to the other’s hair… I’ve bounced from beginning to progressing thru the seasons, but then Season 8 is currently ongoing so I end up catching it in real time – makes for an interesting story. Grin.

      • I have not managed to get the complete season 7, and nothing of season 8 so far but I’m working on that problem πŸ˜‰
        As for Sam, yes. He is quite, uhm, irritating at times. But Dean. Well, *sigh*
        As I said. He’s da man πŸ˜‰

  5. I think for certain situations then yes I would like to go back regardless if they have made me who I am today, because, what if i don’t like all of who i am today?

  6. I don’t think I would like to go back in time. I might make mistakes, and things wouldn’t turn out as good as they have. I am content in the present. πŸ™‚

  7. I was discussing this whole issue of “what-ifs” with my son the other day, in particular mentioning a certain hunky landscape gardener I’d once had a thing for. My son pointed out that if I’d got together with this guy on a permanent basis, then we wouldn’t be having this discussion as he wouldn’t exist. And I wouldn’t have the same daughter, the same grandchildren, and the same dog.

  8. No changing anything for me, even the bad. Much too dodgy. Some of my life could have ended up far worse, without the son and daughter and grandchildren that I know and love now, and someone else might have owned my beautiful dog. People often think about going back to improve things, but the knock-on effect on the world might be horrendous.

Leave a Reply

