Yes well…

It is done.

At long last this interminable Monday is at an end.

I am at home, no sounds but the occasional car driving past, irritating dogs barking, fingers tapping on the keys. I don’t even have any tunes playing. Think I need the silence after today.

Traffic sucked ass. As per usual. Some dick stuck in the road and either it had no hazzards, or it did not know to put them on – since only people that actually studies and got their driver’s license the hard way would know this. If you just drive because you happened to get your hands on a car, well then…

One good thing. Got my hands on a bottle of wine today. Pineau de laborie. They call it a liqueur wine. Almost like a dessert wine, but more maroon in colour. Like oxblood wine. But it tastes sweet with almost an aftertaste of the real wine. I had a tot – might have another one before I go to sleep – since I was, once again, reminded of the passing of the old man.

This time by the cremation company. Sent me a nice postcard with condolences. And a most beautiful poem…

God bless our pets.

They say memories are golden.

Well, maybe that’s true.

I never wanted memories, I only wanted you.

A million times I cried.

If love alone could have saved you,

you never would have dies.

In life I loved you dearly,

In death I love you still.

In my heart you hold a place

No one could ever fill.

if tears could build a stairway,

and heartache made a lane.

I’d walk the path to heaven

And bring you back again.

Our family chain is broken,

and nothing seems the same.

But as God calls us one by one,

the chain will link up again.

And there I was, once again, sobbing like a child. Of course, the sobbing was not only for the old man, the note was just a catalyst to let out some of the pent up stuff I’m dealing with every day. And, I suppose, it could be taken for people that’s gone. People that made up a big part of our lives, but are no more. Never to speak to again, or give a hug, or told you love them. We all have to deal with these feelings, and yes, time does make it better. But it never goes away.

So, I chose this song – it reminds me of my father. Brought him to tears every time he heard it, and me for thinking of him, singing it in the passage way or out in the garden. He is still missed…

It’s over now. Life does go on, regardless of what happens to you at any given stage.

I still have the chocolate and Saturday evening post in the wings, never fear, but for now, let me bid you all a good whatever time of day it is πŸ™‚

Me – almost off to bed – too cold to park off in the study for longer than needs be!!

12 comments on “Yes well…

  1. Glad there’s wine and chocolate mentioned in here, wine (which sounds like a lovely yummy flavor) was had chocolate to be had. That poem and the Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves won’t be lost from my mind any time soon. My father (his father a Cantor by profession) loved these kinds of songs. Don’t recall this one in particular, but he’d be there all alone listening to Opera, Pavarotti, etc. and in heaven. I loved that man. Beautiful, yet, poignant post. Hugs to you. Sleep well. P

    • My dad also sang in a choir – many evenings were spent behind the scenes listening to them do this exact song.
      Memories galore!!
      Thanks for the hugs P πŸ™‚
      xx

  2. Love the song from Aida. As for your dog, I know the feeling of losing a dog. We did have a Doberman pincher that died of cancer. 20 years ago, still seems like yesterday. Take care, g.

Leave a Reply

