Music Passion

This month, the theme is Summer. Since it’s that season in the Northern hemisphere. Brought to you, as always, by Dolly, and the theme chosen by Cognitive reflection.

Disregarding the fact that here, in the Southern hemisphere, we are freezing. Today, here in my neck of the woods, the wind blustered hither and tither, leaves all over the place. Even the poor fish seems to be hiding from it!!

Maybe a Summer song will bring some much needed warmth into our season – not sunshine – that we have in abundance no matter what the season, it’s just a tad watery. No real warmth. Just a semblance of it’s usual glory.

This then, my choice for a summer song…

Brings to mind, soft, slow summer evenings, maybe with a tinge of rain on the air, making it humid, breathing a little deeper, smelling growth on the waves of the wind. Languid afternoons spent next to the pool, with the yellow sun streaming over sweaty skin, adding to the slowness of movement. Tall, iced drinks, sipped slowly, ice clinking against the glass with every movement. Here in SA, it usually means smokey fires, sending their delicious scents off into the slow night, meat grilling on hot coals – so much so that you can almost hear the sizzling, fat dripping onto the coals below, signalling summer in all it’s brilliance.

I’ll do an update on the chocolate, the accompanying injuries and my well spent Saturday night tomorrow when I need a pick me up – do have a lovely Sunday!

21 comments on “Music Passion

  1. Great imagery and writing, Ghia. And, the song, doesn’t get any better than that. Two of my all time favorites! Peaceful dreams, my friend. πŸ™‚ ps. hanging around to let the song finish and am smiling showing a lot of teeth listen to Mr. Armstrong. God, I love those two. πŸ™‚

    • I’m thinking that my BBQ should be ready in about, oh, 4 months πŸ˜‰ And you are very welcome πŸ™‚
      We’re dealing with a seriously cold snap here today – the first real cold since winter began!!

  2. This here isn’t my bag, but on saying that I ma not sure. I have heard people play this on sax in Covent garden and i love it… I need to listen to several times.

  3. Brrrrrr. Even Ella and Louis failed to convince me. What it must be like inland at the moment, I dread to think …
    A well-spent Saturday night sounds intriguing!

    • You’re right to dread what’s happening inland Col – it’s freezing!!!
      Still, always lovely to cuddle under many blankets with a hot water bottle and a cat – since I don’t have a human companion to do that with πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Join Music Passion Summer… – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe

  5. Pingback: Summer… Music Passion Updating… Enjoy! – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe

  6. Pingback: Summer… Music Passion … Thanks to all Entries… Enjoy! – allaboutlemon-All Around, In, And Out Of My Own Universe

Leave a Reply

