Such a shame…

In the old days…

People did things the right way.

They built buildings meant to last.

They worked hard every day to make what they wore, grow what they ate, raised their children the right way.

They built castles to keep them safe and to defend themselves from the great unwashed.Via: commons.wikimedia.org

They rode trains, and built towering edifices powering that mode of transport.Source: i.imgur.com

They created magnificent theatres to absorb and enjoy the talent of the human voice and hands.Source: ebow.org

They built hotels at the edge of the world.Source: alveart

 

And then modern life intruded.

Entertainment is centred on a little screen. Going to the theatre is not a question of getting dressed in your best evening clothes. It’s not an outing anymore. It’s just another thing to do in the mindless chase for feeling good. Anything goes. Or not as the above picture reflects.

Modern life happened. People stay at home more. They don’t use public transport as much as they used to. Here in my country it’s just too dangerous to use the public transport systems, and something I’m very thankful I don’t have to do!

But looking at all the abandoned places in this article, I have to lament the state we find ourselves in.

Everything is a rush. Going from place to place. Eating. Entertainment.

Nothing is done right anymore. Everything’s rushed. Get more out there, make more money faster.

It’s a sad thing to see these triumphs of mankind just abandoned like so much rubbish. Which is what we’re turning the world into – just so much rubbish.

And while you’re looking at the lovely spots, listen to this tune – brilliant!

Long days and pleasant nights…

 

22 comments on “Such a shame…

  1. I love seeing pictures of abandoned places makes me think of their history and what happened there, whilst I agree that everything seems to be rush rush rush these days I don’t think that all or even many of the pictures were as a result of that. the mill for example would have run out of natural resources etc. I think the world would benefit from slowing down and taking stock though. I liked the tune too, good post.

  2. Hello you i liked the sound of the country residence,
    And i think people our rebuilding including the insides too
    Anything possible if want it to happen and believe
    I liked your song too
    Have a beautiful day
    β•”β•—
    ║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *
    β•‘β•šβ•£β•‘β•‘β•‘β•‘β•©β•£* Danielβ€’*´¨`*β€’
    β•šβ•β•©β•β•©β•β•©β•β•.*.*

  3. I always say ‘one day when I win the lotto…’ you know the story. But if I am ever able to afford it I’d go and see a castle in Europe, I’ve read sooooo many books about them and I’ve always wanted to take a good look at one.

Leave a Reply

