a Change of Season.

The Daily prompt

More entries.

Missive :Β For many of us, winter is blooming into spring, or fall hardening into winter. Which season do you most look forward to?

The seasons. They change. And it’s all just weather.

Cold or hot, wet or dry – each of them has their own singular beauty and a reason for being.The bare, skeletal branches of winter, stark against the glorious sunrises we sometimes get. The fine, brilliant green buds in spring, the swallows returning, the flowers blooming. the yellow, thick sunshine of summer. Helping everything grow, giving us whities a healthy looking tan. the coloured leaves of autumn, everything winding down for the rest period. Each of them has something to offer – it’s up to us to see what that is, and appreciate it on that level.

I have to say, I don’t prefer any season over the other. I know my son prefers the cold of winter. Some people prefer the sunshine we get in abundance here in South Africa.

Me. Not so much. If it rains, I wear plastic shoes and an umbrella. Eat pancakes covered in cinnamon sugar and drink hot chocolate.

If it’s dry, I lament, and then go out and water the garden.

When the sun is shining, beating down on the earth with a vengeance, I wear the coolest sundress I can find with the strappiest sandals.

But in winter. In winter I can dress. Boots. My lovely silk scarf. Thick sweaters and my leather jacket. Stockings and skirts, heels.

I don’t sweat as much in winter as I do summer. I enjoy dressing warmly. Crawling into bed with my hot water bottle nestled closely, as much clothes and blankets as I can fit on the bed and on me πŸ˜‰

Well, reading this, it would seem winter is my favourite season πŸ˜‰

Not to say I look forward to it though!! Even though the sunrises are quite spectacular, it’s to damn cold to appreciate them!

But hey – it does not say winter forever, nor does it summer or spring or autumn.

And of course. The only song that would fit today’s prompt…

 

14 comments on “a Change of Season.

  1. Certainly sounds from your post that you like winter more:-). But you are correct every season has it’s beauty to be admired and enjoyed. Think it’s time to pull out your comfy winter outfits:-)

    • Not quite there yet K – a light jacket can still ward off the chill πŸ˜‰
      Give it another month, then I’ll be freezing my non existent nuts off πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: A man for all seasons. | paul scribbles

  3. I’m a winter person. I’m sure I must have said it before, in summer there’s only so much you can take off while in winter you can just pile it on. Plus in winter you get to bring out the flee-cies πŸ™‚

  4. I would have bet you would be a Spring-er. Something about the end of summer and the snap of fall in one of your posts. I love ’em both, but mostly it is the change that I love.

    • I never quite know what to wear during spring and Autumn – such unpredictable weather.
      Have to say, don’t mind one or the other – they happen and I get older πŸ˜‰

  5. Pingback: Les Boise Lumineux, Idaho | The Jittery Goat

  6. You make a great case for the joy of all seasons, especially your yummy sounding rainy day breakfast. I’m a sunshine person but love when rain comes and everything is fresh afterwards, and especially since we have such a bad drought here in So. Calif and desperately need rain. The little we’ve had have been joyous days for me and our garden. Cold triggers physical stuff in me so that I can do without, but were it not for that and years past I liked being in the snow and around the change of weather/seasons.

    • I know some people can’t handle the cold as well as others – a friend of mine has something resembling a railroad in her back and the cold kills her!!
      Luckily I’m not there yet – no creaks in the bones when it gets cold or wet – suppose if that starts happening, I’ll also have something to say πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

