Monday.

And I’m sharing my desk with a sprawling cat.

Of course he has to lie on the mousepad, where else? And he’s a shedder of note, so everything’s covered in those fine, white hairs of his. Suppose he just wants to be close, but not too close πŸ˜‰

It’s a gorgeous day here on the Highveld at the southern tip of Africa. A bit windy, but the sky is a perfect blue, and the sun a yellow presence over everything. I should be doing laundry, but I don’t think I’m gonna!

Went to mom’s for a visit yesterday. And she switched the channel to, is it Honey Boo-Boo? The hillbilly baby with the super-smooth mouth, going to beauty pageants? The kid is I think 5 years old, and they put false nails on her. Make up. Curled hair. I’m sorry. Kids that age should not be doing stuff like that. They should be getting dirty while playing outside, learn how life works on their own, and not in an adult setting. But hey – I’m sure they’re making some kind of money with the pageants. And kids have been progressively made to act older than they are, and I suppose the moms are living vicariously through their kids, doing the things they never could as children. Kind of sad really.

Heard from mom yesterday that my sister’s husband bought each of the kids a tablet. They’re 9 & 11. And they have tablets. He can’t be bothered to spend actual time with them, constructive time, but he can buy them all manner of stuff. Teaching his kids, as he was taught, that daddy’s don’t have to actually show any kind of love, he just needs to buy stuff. Perpetuating the vicious circle. Not my kids though. not going to be my problem one day, I have my own kids to worry about.

And we did also watch some bakery in Cape town. Quite the artists those people! And then it was time for american Idols. Luckily only a little bit – I abhor reality shows with a hate that runs deep and true and always on course πŸ˜‰ Of course, it’s still better than watching the South African news, so maybe that’s why mom rather put on the cake show than to let me watch the news. When they do that, watch the news, I just leave. There are not many things as upsetting as the SA news. I listen to the things our useless president spout, and I know there are cretins, both here and abroad, that believes the crap that comes out of his mouth, and it fills me with dread.

At least I got some food out of the deal – lovely ox-tail stew, and I’ll be having the rest this afternoon for lunch πŸ™‚

Hope your day is going swimmingly, and do enjoy the tune…

23 comments on “Monday.

  1. Hello you liked your song brought back memories
    Wishing you a lovely day
    β•”β•—
    ║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *
    β•‘β•šβ•£β•‘β•‘β•‘β•‘β•©β•£* Danielβ€’*´¨`*β€’
    β•šβ•β•©β•β•©β•β•©β•β•.*.*


  2. Love that song. We haven’t even bothered to switch out TV on since we got back. As for the news, I so agree with you. Not a great way to start one’s day, getting angry with fools.

    • It’s been 3 years since I’ve had actual TV to watch – and I can’t say I miss it one bit, so I don’t blame you AD!
      As for watching the news – I realise that i can’t do much about it, but they make me so crazy angry I want to lash out at all of them – so I avoid the lot!
      Enjoy the rest of the afternoon πŸ˜‰

  3. It’s terrible when you see these kids walking around with their hands glued to their phone/tablet. No wonder why they lack proper social skills.
    Can’t stand that show with the kids, it disgusts me that parents would do something like that to their kids. Most probably some dream that the parents didn’t get to live out so they getting their kids to do it. As for the bakery show, I actually quite like that one. It’s nice to see a South African one that’s doing well instead of all the American ones

    • Makes me glad that I don’t have DSTV πŸ˜‰
      And yes, the bakery show is good – those folks are actual artists! Goes to show that not everything greats comes from the States πŸ˜‰

  4. I get so angry about young girls tarted up for pageants. Can’t parents just let their children be children? As for youngsters glued to electronics. SCREAM.
    Glad you got a decent meal πŸ˜‰

    • I feel so sorry for kids these days.
      And what makes it worse are the parents – people who were NOT brought up with everything they insist on giving kids now!
      A meal from mom is always quite decent πŸ˜‰

  5. Otis Redding. Gosh, I haven’t heard that song in milleniums. Thank you, Ghia. Glad you had a meal you didn’t have to cook. I like cooking and I’m not bad at it but I DO appreciate a well-cooked meal served to me too.

    • I’m not bad at cooking either Tess – it’s just not something I like doing, so I don’t πŸ˜‰
      I thought Mr Redding worked for the laziness of the day – glad you liked the tune!

  6. Hope you kept to the lazy day theme, J – you deserve one or three! I loved today’s rant and wholeheartedly agree with you. Since I never watch the reality shows, I only hear about it when these contestants pop up somewhere else – the babybooboo or whatever just made me flinch and change the channel.

    • I only see any kind of TV when I’m at my mom’s. And they seem to have taken a liking in watching reality shows – it’s such a mindless exercise!!
      Can’t say I miss watching TV all the time – only time mine are switched on these days is when I want to watch a DVD πŸ˜‰

  7. Agree about the beauty pageants. Don’t want to sound like a fuddy-duddy, but I really think it’s terrible to do that to kids that young. BTW, on a related topic, did you ever see Little Miss Sunshine? Loved that movie.

    • I have, and I agree with you – it was a brilliant movie πŸ˜‰
      I’m sooo glad my kids are not small enough for me to screw up with stuff and money – they still had to learn the hard way that you actually have to work for your money πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

