I saw…

…the most amazing thing this morning.

Standing at a red traffic light, about 4 cars down. The lane next to me, in the front, there’s a truck or something, waiting for the light to turn green – since that’s what one does when faced with a red traffic light, not so?

Weeeelllll. Apparently in Olievenhout Bosch, Centurion, South Africa, they do things a little differently.

Two taxis make their way, around the waiting vehicle, into oncoming traffic, to pass him, across the red traffic light! I mean really! Time is money, and who the heck cares about the lives of the people in the minibus taxi? Certainly not the drivers!

And this evening, after my sojourn to a Spar quite a ways from me to pick up some root beers for the coming weekend, I again, stood waiting at a red traffic light. The robot turns red for the crossing cars, and I have a green arrow, helping me across a very busy intersection. Now, bear in mind, the robot turned red for the cars coming from my left. I’m turning right. Halfway into the turn, yet another taxi comes zooming past me, having driven right across the red, for him, traffic light.

Now, we’ve all come across that kind of behaviour – at least if you’ve driven anywhere on the African Continent, and in South Africa in particular. To me, the worst thing about their flagrant disregard for the rules is the fact that they hardly ever have to pay the piper. Sometimes the cops will just pull them off to make sure the vehicles are roadworthy, or to get their weekly bribes, I don’t know, might as well pick one, but they never see these people flaunt their taxi-ness or whatever makes them do the things they do. And we, the other road users, that usually do stick to the rules of the road, either have to sverve out the way, or jump on the brakes because they’ve decided to drop somebody off right in front of you, or the lane they’re currently in does not work for them.

Does not help to get angry. Can’t fight them. Sure as hell not going to join them! So I settle for getting even in any way I can. And it gives me great pleasure!

And now, for something completely different.

Got a phone call from the ex last night. Just a normal chat. Which is scary in itself, because why would my ex want to chat to me? I’m sure there are reasons for him to phone me, but the conversations we have no makes a welcome difference to the ones we had 10/15 years ago. Anyhow. Tells me that the last time they visited his sister, and that fine lady was well into her cups, she let it slip that when I visit there, they enjoy it more than when the current wife does!! Oh my! I’m sure he had a lot of fires to kill that evening!! Apparently the second wife is a timid creature. Just goes to show. It’s the quiet ones that carries the most poison. Because that chick, as small and as timid as she comes across, has the tongue of a cobra! Still. I don’t know why it’s such an issue. She’s been married to my ex for the past 12 going on 13 years – longer than I was married to him. Surely she must know these people by now? She must have known that she’s stepping into my shoes? I’ll be in exactly the same position should I meet a man that’s worth meeting and he happens to be divorced. But then, my aversion to people is such that I don’t really hesitate to voice my opinion in the most vocal manner possible – should stop any mention of my predecessor right there and then. Of course, I might not be invited back, but that’s also allright πŸ˜‰

PPD, you’ll be happy to know that I’m going to try that almond cake of yours tomorrow. As well as the chocolate biscuits and the bread, and maybe, if I still have ingredients left, I might make the cheat version cinnamon rolls too. All so that the poor house guy can wash all the dishes on Saturday πŸ˜‰

And on Sunday, me and the eldest plan to go to the Exclusive books warehouse sale. R50 for 1 kg of books – I can live with that!!

But before that happens, I still have to get my arse out of bed tomorrow and Saturday.

If you’re travelling, please do so carefully, come back safely, and enjoy the time away – we’ve all been looking forward to it for a while.

And, to set you on your way, this tune.

And this one, just because it’s a cool tune πŸ˜‰

 

 

 

19 comments on “I saw…

  1. Saw an accident involving a taxi on the way back today. The taxi and it’s trailer had both flipped upside down, no idea what happened to the people.
    Enjoy the sale, it was absolute heaven when I went! πŸ™‚

    • The strangest thing – the people never die, well, almost never. Think they’re packed too tight. But the way those guys drive, I’m glad I have a car!!!
      As for the sale – I’ll have to make sure not to buy too much, but if they have Pratchetts and Kings and Francis’, all bets are off!

    • Don’t think of our taxi’s as your normal cabs Tess, although those are here too.
      the ones I’m talking about are minibus taxis, filled to capacity – up to 20 people in one minibus.
      Glad you liked the tunes πŸ˜‰

  2. Sheesh, those taxi drivers are something I didn’t miss at all whilst I was away. I would never want to ride in one of those coffins on wheels. Enjoy your weekend.

    • My son once had to a while back when his car was broken, and I doubt that he’ll repeat that exercise anytime soon!!
      Not something I’d like to try – thank heavens for my old car!!
      Enjoy yours too πŸ˜‰

  3. Have a fantastic bank holiday weekend
    β•”β•—
    ║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *
    β•‘β•šβ•£β•‘β•‘β•‘β•‘β•©β•£* Danielβ€’*´¨`*β€’
    β•šβ•β•©β•β•©β•β•©β•β•.*.*

    • More than welcome for tea anytime P πŸ˜‰
      I’ll have to take pictures of my experiments just to prove that I did something cooking wise πŸ˜‰
      As for the cabs – not something I even contemplate!!

  4. I couldn’t cope with driving conditions like that. You must have nerves of steel. Ever since a lorry ploughed into my Jeep and wrote it off, I’ve been a most jittery driver. Don’t trust a soul. Hubbie keeps complaining what a terrible passenger I’ve become, too. When I’m sitting next to him in the car, I keep doing phantom breaking with my foot at the slightest provocation and nearly jumping out of my skin if I see a car coming towards me at crossroads. It’s not that I was injured in the crash — or my son or my dog who were in the car with me — but it’s the recurring thought of what could have happened.

    Keep safe.

    • Not as much nerves of steel as quite used to the way they drive. you learn to expect the unexpected. And I have many altercations with them on a daily basis!!
      luckily I’ve not been in a serious accident so far, touch wood, and I hope I never get there. Might be a bit of a problem for me being on my own πŸ˜‰
      And I’ve been a bad passenger since forever πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

