INTJ

Daily Prompt.

More entries.

Missive :Β Do parties and crowds fill you with energy, or send you scurrying for peace and quiet?

Anybody that reads me relatively regularly will know that I’m a functional hermit.

Meaning – I can interact with other humans on a completely superficial level, purely for the sake of taking home a paycheque. When I’m no required to work, I much prefer my own company. I occupy my brain with reading. or watching something while knitting. Or I’ll fiddle with one of the many hobbies I have. Building things, fixing things, having fun with my power tools. All very solitary past times.

Asking me to go to the maul is akin to expecting me to sacrifice my firstborn on a pyre. Wanting me to go out to a club where the people are bound to become rowdy and drunk, and lose their sense of personal space, well. Suffice to say that I’m not pleasant to be around under those circumstances. And I usually leave at about 10 pm. When the rest of the world is only starting their partying, I’m leaving for home where I can do what I want to do in peace and quiet. Unless some of the folk I share my living space with, meaning my street, decides to have their own party in which case I get even more upset.

Since I don’t share my actual living space with anything other than animals, I’m getting less able to entertain people. Playing host to people is not something I’ve ever been good at and I’m losing what little ability I had as every year goes by.

Strange how animals are never an irritant when in your personal space – wonder why that is.

I had a lodger here once. And every night I walked into the house, I felt his presence like a pimple on my chin. His miasma permeated every room. The whole feel of my house changed, became less calm, more irritating. Until I chased him out.

And my life returned to it’s even keel. I could breathe in my house. Experience it again. The way it was supposed to be experienced.

It’s getting so that even when my mom or my kids come to visit, I’m not too sad to see them leave πŸ˜‰ And I’m never bored enough to go visit!

As I said – functional hermit πŸ˜‰

17 comments on “INTJ

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: INTJ | nicksen

    • My ex was the party animal – a;ways surrounded by people – almost as if he was afraid of his own company. Poor man – it’s still the same.
      Sure, sometimes i also want to fell what it feels like to be the life of the party, but that would mean people, and really, i just don’t know how to handle them for the most part!

  2. Pingback: It’s Just a Matter of Priorities | So I Went Undercover

  3. Pingback: TONIGHT THE WORLD IS DANCING | hastywords

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: INTJ | My Atheist Blog

    • Hey sir – I’m quite skilled with my little Dremmel tool – just love it!!!
      Still have to start using my grinder and welding machine, but the jigsaw has seen quite a lot of action since I got it! Not to mention my drill and cordless screwdriver – I just love power tools!!
      I probably do have some Hillbilly in me somewhere πŸ˜‰

  5. Pingback: How I Met Carly Simon | The Jittery Goat

  6. On the odd occasion i go to a party i see people i have not seen
    for a while,They always give me a feel good factor
    because some i have known a long time and understand
    me and know me for who i am,it’s a happy fix that they share
    With all the crew
    Have a Happy day tomorrow
    β•”β•—
    ║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *
    β•‘β•šβ•£β•‘β•‘β•‘β•‘β•©β•£* Danielβ€’*´¨`*β€’
    β•šβ•β•©β•β•©β•β•©β•β•.*.*

    • Have to say Daniel – i don’t even have all that many friends that invite me to parties. Actually, I don’t have ANY friends that invites me anywhere!!
      But I can understand that the catching up is much fun πŸ˜‰

  7. I’m not much for loud anything anymore. If my family didn’t live upstairs, I would be a hermit and gratefully. I hardly ever put on the television of radio on anymore, I’ve become so used to as much silence and I can get.

    • I must say, the radio or my PC tunes are usually always playing. TV, don’t have one that works, so the only thing I do watch is DVD’s or stuff from my hard drives.
      And thank heavens I don’t live with my family!! Think I’ll go mad within days!

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt:INTJ | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

