Impossibilities.

And the people who believe in them.

Daily prompt.

More entries.

Missive : “Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.” – the White Queen, Alice in Wonderland.

What are the six impossible things you believe in? (If you can only manage one or two, that’s also okay.)

Damn!! I’m tired! Let’s see what my mushy brain can come up with.

Can’t say I believe in impossible things. Intangible maybe, but not impossible.

A few things that I know is quite possible has eluded me, and therefore, became quite impossible. For me, that is. But what’s impossible for me is somebody else’s possible.

 

Thinking of that song, To dream, the impossible dream…

What would an impossible dream be?

World peace?

No famine?

No poverty?

Good night to all and to all a good night?

Everlasting happiness?

We all know, as long as humans exist, none of these things will come to pass.

And just as happiness can not last forever, neither can unhappiness.

I think maybe, we should believe in the little every day impossibilities. A safe journey home. A beautifully flowering plant. A child’s happy laugh. A Paganini violin concerto played by a virtuoso. A Chopin piano piece. A newborn baby.

Things we don’t even see, let alone believe in. They just happen, but each and every time one of them comes to fruition, an impossibility occurs.

And it’s those little everyday things that make up the impossible dream. Since it’s likely that each of us has our own impossible dream.

According to Ghia that is…

Long days and pleasant nights…

22 comments on “Impossibilities.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Impossible | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: 6 Impossible-ossible Things | Cheri Speak

  3. To Dream the Impossible Dream – absolutely one of my favorites and guided my footsteps until 1996, when I had to choose a new theme. You called it exactly right, it is the everyday things the greatest miracles and daily heros and heroines are found. Thanks for the reminder, J, sleep well. P

  4. Pingback: The One That Mother Gives You Doesn’t Do Anything At All | The Jittery Goat

    • Glad you liked the tunes Col – heard the Paganini on the radio yesterday afternoon, and even though I knew the tune very well, I never knew the name – took me a while to find it!
      But the Prokofiev, that one I just adore! And the Chopin – if only I had the perseverance to play like that!

      • I love the Prokofiev – the only thing is, it simply fails to conjure the Romeo and Juliet family images for me. I find it more fitted to a grander significance, like the building of a great storm.

      • You’re right – it does not fir the almost frivolity of Romeo and Juliet – nor the sadness of the story.
        A brooding storm, or a great battle…then again, the two parties in question did meet for a fight.

  5. Pingback: Impossibility | Beyond Beauty Tips

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Impossibility | My Atheist Blog

  7. My impossible dream is to stand up in public and give a speech that changes the world forever in a positive way. (Hah, hah! I’d have a heart attack before I ever delivered a speech in front of lots of people).
    Another impossible dream — that my husband would offer to cook the supper or do the washing up for once.
    But seriously now. I really liked that post of yours 🙂

    • I know of a few women that has your impossible dream regarding their husbands Sarah 😉
      As for the other one, that’s a good impossible dream to have.
      Glad you liked my post 🙂

  8. Pingback: Gotta Make it Possible | studio Nem

Leave a Reply

