Humans.

We are strange creatures indeed…

So. There I was, farting around on Facebook, as one does on a lazy Sunday afternoon.

One of my friends shared something from Vin Diesel’s FB page.

I like him. Very much. There’s a new Riddick movie coming out and I would actually do things to go and see that on the big screen – the first Riddick was seriously cool, so I’m hoping the next one will be just as good.

I liked his FB page. Will see if I will now get updates from him like I do Hugh Jackman.

Now. I’m not a celebrity junkie. what they do with their lives is not even remotely interesting to me. They are just people, with quite a lot more money than me, and seemingly a lot less sense. Do I really care who’s shagging who, and who was caught doing a line of coke, or was showing off her lack of panties? No, I don’t.

I like watching them in the movies. Because that’s a fantasy world. Do I want Mr Jackman to visit me? Can’t say I do, unless he’s Wolverine or van Helsing. Mr Diesel? Same. I can quite imagine what it must feel like to touch that smooth skin of his, but I do think that I’ll be like a deer in headlights should that opportunity present itself!! Or just make as if I have no idea who he is – so as not to let the ego get any worse than it already is πŸ˜‰ And he must be in his guise as Xander from XXX. Nothing else will do.

Because it’s not him, the person, I like.

It’s him, the movie actor. The fantasy. The guy with the tattoos, or the guy with the blades on his hands. I like the person they portray. That’s what I think about when I say I like them. I love Johnny Depp in Chocolat.

Will Johnny Depp in real life be as understanding as Roux? johnny depp

Will Jackman in real life be as Wolverine? wolverine

Will Diesel in real life be as Xander?vin-diesel-6

Probably not. Because in the movies they are larger than life. They are somewhat bad, but their Β emotions runs deep, and they do have a good side to them. They can apologise, they can try and make things right. They can fight for justice and keep me safe. Or avenge me after the bad guys have done something bad to me.

They’re not quite real. And it’s the not quite real that I like. The person portrayed on screen probably has little to do with the person they are when they wake up in the morning.

I’m not quite deluded enough to believe that such men exist. I’m well aware of the fact that Hollywood movies has little or no concept of real life. Which is why I like the fantasy characters more than the real life ones. In the fantasy, they move in a world far enough removed from mine that I can wonder about it, imagine life in that milieu. Because it’s a complete fabrication, I can immerse myself in it without getting it confused with life as I know it.

Because. In that fantasy world, I’m Jean Grey. jean grey

I’m the little Russian chick in XXX.xxx chick

I’m Kate Beckinsale in Van Helsing, kate beckinsale

I’m Juliette Binoche in Chocolatchocolat-movie – all part of the fantasy.

I’m Mina Harker in League of Extraordinary gentlemen.Β mina harker

I’m not me. I’m beautiful, perfectly coiffed, gorgeously dressed.

And is that not what fantasy is all about?







 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 comments on “Humans.

    • You’ve got me there H – I have no idea what happens on the 4th of June.
      Remember, I’ve not watched TV, nor read a magazine or newspaper for the past 2 years – completely out of sync with the world πŸ˜‰

  1. Chicks that just talk of celeb news drive me insane! I’ve got enough issues in my life, why would I wanna hear about someone else who could basically pay for it to disappear.
    The fantasy part of it is the best part, definitely doesn’t get better than that

    • Could not really be bothered about celebrities. Don’t quite know what they hype is about in any case.
      fantasy is what makes my world go round πŸ˜‰

  2. I’m with you on the fun in fantasy however, in real life maybe not…!
    Hugh is gorgeous, however he’s a great family man with a great wife and kids… Would I want to be with him? NO. Would I like to know him? Probably. I think he’s a great guy. Can’t say that about many actors, but I love their movies….! πŸ™‚

    • I live in a very harsh reality.
      Prefer to do my escaping through fantasy πŸ˜‰
      Would I want any of those guys in real life? Probably not – the movies they play in works well with my fantasy life πŸ™‚
      And you must remember – I have nobody around me so fantasy is all I really have πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

