Fantasy. Lies. Who cares?

The Daily Prompt.

More entries.

Missive :Β The Tooth Fairy (or Easter Bunny, or Santa Claus . . .) : a fun and harmless fiction, or a pointless justification for lying to children?

And then this young man made it even more of a deal by his tug-of-war suggestion.

Let’s have fun with this one folks!!

mentally

 

For me it’s no contest really.

I’m all for fun and harmless fiction. Especially while you’re a kid. The fantasies you come across are there to help you build up an imagination. You need to learn how to create your own monsters. You need to picture how a knight in shining armour will look like. What the damsel in distress will smell like – hopefully attar of roses, and not crap πŸ˜‰

Being a kid you should still believe in the wonder of the Universe. You should still be able to look for fairies in the garden under toadstools. You need to picture frogs with saddles and falcons with reigns – fairies and their unlikely steeds.

See cloud pictures. Fantasize about riding the Good Luck dragon from Neverending story, or the Hippogriff in Harry Potter. As i do every time I see those movies, and sometimes even while I’m busy with my daily drudgery!

Fantasy is the mainstay of life. Reality will soon intrude. One day you’ll wake up and it will be all about boys or girls or other boys or other girls, what to wear, how to dance, when you’ll get your driver’s license.

Believing in Santa or the Easter Bunny is no more harmful to a child than smelling a rose. In actual fact. I think NOT letting and helping them believe in fantasy, you’ll be creating a very poor human being. A person that can not imagine a fairy into being, or dream of unicorns won’t see the world as it can be.

For me, fantasy and books are synonymous. Reading about exploits. Using your imagination to make the story come to life. That’s why I never watch Stephen King movies, but I absolutely adore his books – in the books I can create a reality I can live with. I’m not overwhelmed by the gore and the nastiness. And I never let my foot hang over the edge of the bed! Since I have a healthy fantasy life – you just never know what’s lurking under the bed!!

Fantasy will always be king. Magic will be something to imagine. Fairies at play in my garden, gnomes hunting on mice, catching lazy bumblebees on a hot summer’s day.

magic

 

Sure, living in a dream world is not always conducive to healthy planning. Life does seem hard for us dreamers. But we always have a place to go to. A spot to escape to. We can always see things that others might miss.

We’re always on the lookout, because, who knows, one day a flower might just come to life in front of our eyes!

And now for the tunes.

The first one because it’s just such a cool tune. And the second because really, nothing else will do the trick πŸ˜‰

Long days and pleasant nights to all…

 

20 comments on “Fantasy. Lies. Who cares?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fantasy | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: β€œYou Can’t Handle The Truth!” | The Jittery Goat

  3. I do agree that lots of fantasy is a good thing, and the ability to let the mind range far beyond the mundane invaluable.
    I do have issues, though, with encouraging anyone, child or adult, to firmly BELIEVE something that is incredible and for which there is no proof. Of course, there is actual proof for a lot of incredible things.

    • If you don’t believe without proof you can’t follow my religion.or any religion for that matter. And at the risk of starting a religious hullabaloo, I like the things I believe.
      What I believe does not have to be seen or proven for me to know it’s as real as my mind can make it.
      And after all – living in a fantasy is much preferable to living in the real world!

      • Self-hypnosis or self-delusion – these indeed make a silly basis for religion, whatever the religious leaders with their vested interests may say. A true inner conviction not needing proof is an entirely different matter, as long as one doesn’t find it in conflict with all reasonable logic.

      • Really. Do I strike you as a deluded person?
        Of course you must have all the facts – that’s what makes a fantasy world work.
        What I believe has nothing to do with what people say and everything with what I’ve experienced. I am quite able to believe in things that I can’t see. Really don’t need to know everything to know that there’s a basis of truth in every lie…

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fantasy Two days in a row | My Blog

  5. Movies that are adapted from books usually are such a mess. I generally try to give them a skip. And like you said, it’s much cooler imagining it yourself πŸ™‚

    • One movie where they got it right – The Green Mile. Brought the book to life in so many ways.
      but I think your book/movie adaptation genre will be completely different from mine πŸ˜‰

  6. Pingback: The Daily Prompt: Fantasy | Pondering Spawned

  7. BANG ON THE MARK! J, this is why I know you were a good mother. How do you go about nominating someone for an award? I think you should get one for this. Seriously. And, your Earth, Wind & Fire song – it is one of my very favorites, especially for speeding down the road, all windows open, dancing in my seat. I never could remember what it was or who did it when I finally wanted to locate it. Thank you! HuntMode

    • Don’t know about me being a good mother P!! But thanks for the vote of confidence πŸ˜‰
      As for the tune – I like just about all their stuff and when I saw the theme, well, it was the only song that fit!! Always happy to be of service musically πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Music, philosophy, joy! | Chasing Rabbit Holes

  9. Pingback: Magic Vs. Reality Tug-Of-War Results | thematticuskingdom

Leave a Reply

