Seven days…

The Daily prompt.

More entries.

Missive :Β You wake up tomorrow morning to find all your plans have been cancelled for the next seven days and $10,000 on your dresser. Tell us about your week.

Weeeeeellllll.

$10 000 translates into close to R 90000. Mucho dinero!!

What will I do with that kind of money, and a week off?

Being such a practical person, I’ll fill up the last of the holes. Will make life much better after the week is done!

Then I’ll start spending.

Of course, I’ll basically spend everything in Builders Warehouse. I’ll get irrigation for the whole garden. And somebody to come and install it. I’ll get a pest control dude to come and get rid of the infernal termites. And then I’ll plant wonderlawn all over the place. Or Ivy. Install electricity to the fishpond, with a proper fitting for both the pump and the pond light that has to be there. I’ll finish the damp proofing in the pond and fill it up with water. Get plants to put in it. And then I’ll wait for summer to roll along again and wait until I hear the frog chorus which is the only reason for the pond right by my bedroom window.

Get the one kid to a doctor for a good check-up. Fix his car. Buy the other one a bed. Myself some new linen.

I’ll get tyres for the car. Service it and make sure my baby is firing on all cylinders.

I’ll fill up and then I’ll drive down to the Cape. I’ll drive through the Great Karoo, with my window open and my tunes loud. I’ll enjoy the wind in my face and the sun on my arms. I’ll breathe in the dusty greatness of it. Experience a moonlit night as you only can in the bush. Or a dark moon night. With only stars to guide your way, the wheels singing on the tarmac. Silence surrounding you once the tunes are off. See the headlights widening the road in front of you. Just me and my baby. The wide open road…

Or I do nothing but buy my Harley! Ah such a dream! Then the road is mine anytime I want it to be.

Of course I’ll still have lots of holes to fill, no lawn, lots of termites, a hole in the ground that might one day turn into a frogpond, and a semi-broken car.

But I’ll have my dream – and that may just be worth the effort…

22 comments on “Seven days…

  1. Decisions, decisions… Ah, life is hard enough without having to make such decisions…! πŸ˜‰
    Should we be ‘practical’, or should we ‘indulge’ ourselves?
    Why not half and half….? πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Planning the Perfect Getaway | So I Went Undercover

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Seven Days | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: A Fool And His Money… | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: One Week And Ten Kay – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  6. Ah, no, the loverly (meant to spell it like that ;)) blue fire really semi-broken already? If I could, I would have bestowed such a dream to realize unto you!! xxx

    • He’s not broken as such, just not, literally, firing on all cylinders – it happens – even Blue Fires need a tune up every so often.
      I must watch My Fair Lady again – Loverly, Loverly πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for the wanting a dream come true – I’d invite you with on my Karoo trip!!

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Seven Days | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

