Lost in the details.

Since I’m supremely bored, I thought I’d use some of my very detailed photo’s and do a photo post.

I am also the brand-new owner of a pair of genuine suede pants. Leathers people. My ass encased in leathers. At least it’s not shiny – that might have been a bit much for the general populace to handle πŸ˜‰

I now have the boots, the pants, the jacket, the polo neck sweater, the scarf. Even have a waistcoat for over the jacket. All I now need is my Harley!!! Wonder when that particular dream will come true. If ever.

Anyhow.

Back to the details.


details 2

A wall next to a shop that makes pottery in Istanbul. This was taken during my first trip there. Summer of ’09.

details 3

Part of a plinth at the Haghia Sofia in Istanbul. The current Sofia was built on the residue of this building. Walking around this, being reminded of the absolute passage of time – fascinating. Taken in my second trip to Istanbul,winter of ’10.

details 4

Inside the Haghia Sofia. Not all the detail can be seen, but the magnificence of the building was quite overwhelming. Also taken during the winter visit.

details 5

I tried turning this picture around, but it would not. It’s the inside of a lamp shop. Of course I bought a few of those lamps, they’re all hanging in my bay windows at home. One day I plan to sit in those same windows and read by the light of those lamps.

details 6The Blue Mosque as seen from the hotel we stayed in. I was outside, sipping on a cup of thick Turkish coffee in the cold, but it was the only way I could sneak a smoke ;-). That’s such a great building, just peppered with all the detail you can possibly want.

Hope you enjoyed my trip down memory lane.

And this tune reminds me of the Whirling Dervishes we saw whirling.

37 comments on “Lost in the details.

    • As I said – at least it’s not shiny leathers πŸ˜‰
      One day I’ll get all dressed up and have somebody take a picture!!
      It’s a lovely place – me and my dude traversed the whole place on foot – loved it!!

    • You and me both Grace!!
      Owning a Harley has been one of my forever dreams πŸ˜‰
      As for Istanbul – go – it’s a marvelous place!!

    • I think what I’ll do is go to the States and rent a Harley there. Then I can traverse the routes from one end to the other πŸ˜‰

    • I flipped the pic Col. And I saved the flipped pic.
      For some or other reason, on WP it insists on taking the original rotation of the pic rather than the corrected one. This pic was taken sideways.
      Oh well, hope you could at least see the details πŸ˜‰

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Lost In The Details | Flickr Comments

    • I’m trying to get the Porra to take me one a breakfast run with his new bike πŸ˜‰
      Then I’ll give the high heeled boots and the leathers a good run for their money!!

  2. Pingback: Urban Animals | beyond back creekbeyond back creek

  3. Pingback: Daily Post – Lost in the Details | thegingerbreadcafe

    • Glad you liked the photo’s!
      And thanks for the congrats – I’m sure they will come in handy one of these days πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for the visit and the comment!

Leave a Reply

