Double standards.

Alive and well in the good old RS of A.

Had two birthdays today at work.

My good friend Sam (happy b day again Sam!!), and the cleaning lady.

Sam white. Cleaning lady black.

I don’t know if the people knew it was Sam’s b day. But they very well knew it was the cleaning lady’s. Bought her a cake, and a gift, made a big hoo haa about it. Did she want to take the cake home to eat with her family, or did she want to eat it at the office, yada, yada, yada.

With Sam? I don’t even know who wished her happy birthday. And it’s not her first birthday there.

The double standard comes in here.

Had they known it was Sam’s b day, she would have been wished and asked where the cake was. It would have been expected of her to have baked something or other to entertain the folks at work with. Or, if she could not bake anything for whatever reason, she would have had to go and buy something.

Not with the cleaning chick. No sirree. Shame. She does not earn all that much, let us buy her something, let us make her birthday special. Cool. I know she does not earn all that much. But it does not really cost a lot to bake a cake and bring it to work should the need arise. And if you’re not planning on baking or buying anything, you don’t tell all and sundry that it’s your b day. That’s what I did. Kept quiet. Had no money for cakes and stuff, so I did not want to feel beholden to anybody in that regard.

In my, decidedly screwed up, way of thinking, what’s good for the goose is good for the gander. If you are going to buy a gift for one person, you should be prepared to buy it for another person. Now that I think about it, they probably took up some kind of collection – did not even approach me for a donation for either the cake or the gift – works for me to be seen as the hard ass that does not give a shit. Costs me way less money.

I do try and avoid double standards. I will never expect anybody to do what I’m not prepared to do myself. Unless I pay them. Then it’s their job. They do something for me, I pay them – a mutually beneficial arrangement.

Maybe I’m wrong. Very possibly I’m wrong. A soft word and all that.

Alas. I’m getting slightly sick of the double standards here in my country. What the one does has no semblance to what the other one is allowed to do. What the one says, the other one dare not say. I just have to keep my mouth shut and deal with it.

Such fun.

Anyhow.

Rantlet done for now – wishing all a pleasant evening!

And just because I love the tune, and the guy is not half bed either, here’s Harry Connick Jr…

 

 

19 comments on “Double standards.

  1. We have to bring along cake for the rest of the team when it’s our birthday. I’m unlucky in the fact that my birthday is when I’m with the biggest team that I’m part of!
    Very true about the double standards, just one more thing that sucks balls here

  2. You’re right, this doesn’t seem fair.
    When I was working we usually brought in a huge box of assorted donuts because there was no cutting, no plates, no utensils to worry about, and no mess. Sometimes, more than one person would bring in a box on the same day. No wonder I had a double chin…

    • Birthdays in the workplace should be standardised. I’m working on something that could maybe stop this from happening again, and lets everybody be treated the same way.

  3. Thank you hun bun!
    I never looked at it from that point of view. True, i told no one, really. But then again, they were all talking about it last week and that they would have to find something to tie ‘the cupcakes that i am going bake and bring’ to my scooter … no wonder i went quiet!
    But i enjoyed the treat i took myself on last night anyways!
    And thanks again *hug*

    • As you said this morning – FB tells all.
      And that’s what I saw – grates my nuts!
      Glad you enjoyed last night’s treat 😉

  4. I’ve always thought this office birthday cake thing was really ridiculous. Why should you have to provide cake for everyone you work with, just because you’re a year older? As for the double standards. I agree with you.

    • Exactly AD. I think it won’t be a bad idea if the company has like a b day club.
      Use it to get a mug or something and a cake – but I don’t know.
      As for the double standards – it’s the way it’s always been, and I suppose it’s the way it will always be…

  5. Discrimination is bad, wherever and whenever it happens. I think it’s bad when men disciminate against women, or when women discriminate against men. Or when blacks discriminate against whites, or whites discriminate against blacks. Sometimes, in schools in the UK, I’ve noticed clever kids being discriminated against by teachers, who’d rather hand the class prize to the least clever child because they’re a “social case” or some such thing. My son once tried really hard in swimming, which he didn’t find easy, and he was meant to win the class prize. But in the end, it was awarded to a daughter of one of the school governers. That’s a form of discrimination, too — of the rich and influential, against the less afluent of only modest influence. The world is unfair. It often sucks. And those of us who believe in justice and fairness, must set an example of non-discrimination and hope it has a knock-on effect.

    • For sure Sarah. The world is unfair.
      This I realise all too well.
      I don’t like it, will never like it, but there’s nothing I can do about it.
      Yet another reason why I would really prefer to live in a place where I really don’t have to see people.
      Think I’ll have to start discriminating equally 😉

      • Sometimes, when I take the dog out for a walk, I go out of my way to avoid speaking to anyone. It’s quite an art. Being progressively more reclusive runs in my family. My mother lives in the middle of the countryside and never ventures beyond her house or garden. She does not like the way the world has changed beyond recognition.

      • Her lifestyle makes perfect sense to me.
        Only reason I’m not there yet is that I still have bills to pay.
        But people? We’re all broken Sarah, and nobody even notices the cracks…

  6. People, as a collective, are simply ridiculous. I can never figure out how it comes about that this collective is made up of individuals many of whom seem reasonably pleasant.

    • A strange thing Col.
      Which is why i keep myself removed from them as much as I possibly can.
      One on one I can handle. Groups bigger than about 10 just makes me cover my wickets, batten down the hatches and keep quiet in a corner somewhere.

Leave a Reply

