Moonlight…

 

moonlight

Moonlight becomes you.

It softens the panes of your face,

brings me closer to you.

It diffuses the night,

making it gentler, kinder.

For, in the moonlight, I can dream.

Of times that was.

Of times still to come.

In the moonlight,

I can be close to you.

When the moon shines her kind face,

I hear you in my soul.

When fairies dance on a moonbeam,

I see their joy.

And make it my own.

Because,

moonlight becomes you.

©68Ghia 2013

 

 

This then, my sole concession to what, for many is a day of romance and for many more, a day of heartache. Think the sad people are more than the happy ones. Yet another year without a significant other next to you, holding your hand, loving you. But, as the story goes with Mr Beethoven and his greatest love, it is always there, in the back of your mind. It never really leaves you. And even though we are not all destined to have a happy ending, we have all had a love that made us cry. That made us laugh. That made us feel more than we ever did.

I do hope your Valentine’s day, and all the rest of your days with your loved one is filled with more good than bad. More kisses and less troubles. More love.

 

25 comments on “Moonlight…

  1. Lovely post. Picture, words and music perfectly matched.
    Even though I can play that Sonata from memory, I still enjoy listening to it. The second movement is wonderfully syncopated and fairly easy, but the final one is rather tricky to play, going at quite a lick.

    • I play it myself – strange though. Even though I know the notes, if I don’t have my sheet music in front of me, I lose the plot 😉
      Has ever been one of my favourites, then again, I adore Ludwig’s stuff.
      Thanks for the compliment Col – coming from you, high praise indeed!!

  2. I love Mr Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata…
    I love your poem and your thoughts…
    Here’s to another year filled with possibilities for love….
    Happy Valentine’s Day, Ghia…. 🙂

    • I don’t generally celebrate V day. Does not hold many good memories for me, but for everybody else, go ahead by all means. Me, I’ll either wait for somebody to share it with, or I’ll just carry on wearing black 🙂

    • Don’t think those yearnings will go away anytime soon AD 😉
      I’m working on it though!!
      Glad you liked the song, and happy V day memories to you too 🙂

  3. Such an awesome bit of writing… I gather from the comments that the video is Moonlight Sonata? It’s one of my favourite bits of music.
    Hope that you find the one who will give you all the hugs and kisses that you deserve

  4. Beautiful poem, Ghia. Regtig nice. And on a practical note: I decide a two or three years ago that, failing a really bright moon, things, including me, look better by candlelight at night 🙂

Leave a Reply

