Change.

Such is the Daily prompt.

You need to make a major change in your life. Do you make it all at once, cold turkey style, or incrementally?

Go here to see more entries.

 

You’re always told that change is as good as a holiday.

Wonder which changes they mean.

Would that be the ones where you get a new car. Or the ones where your partner decides to trade you in? Or the ones where a work situation goes from normal to bad to incredibly bad?

Well, the question was if you take it in stages or if you just rip off the plaster and take your chances…

That would depend entirely on the kind of change.

If it is to get rid of a philandering rat that parks off in your house, rip it out and off as quickly as possible.

Change jobs? Make the decision, find something else and go. No use hanging around wondering if you’re doing the right thing. If you were you would not have doubts, so there you go.

Some changes are forced on you. Not always something you can do to stop it, you just have to wade through the morass and deal as best you can. They happen suddenly, not always with prior warning. It just happens.

And then.

The inner changes. I think those are always the most difficult ones to deal with.

Since, let’s face it, if you feel YOU have to change, it’s because another person thinks you’re not good enough. Usually you can deal with yourself. but when others start having an issue with the person you are, then you want to change. You change the way you think, speak, the things you do. Sometimes yo’re successful. Sometimes you fail dismally, and lose the person you wanted to change for in any case.

In the time I am now, I suppose, if I’m going to change at all, it will be done in stages. First the little things, then the big things.

And I’m still not sure if it’s the right thing to do.

I’m already as thankful as I’m likely to be. I already have all the belief I’m likely to have. I’m relatively sorted money wise. At least until end of June. Then all bets are off.

The only thing I really have anything to change for would be for other humans. And I’m not talking family. I’m talking outsiders.

So please. Tell me. Why on earth would I change into something random strangers will like? What are they to me? Why must I bother with them? Ar they going to change to fit in with me? I can attest to the fact that they don’t.

There are people out there that does not mind me. And those are the ones I’m thankful for. I don’t need much in the way of human interaction. And what I’m getting now serves my purposes just fine. More, and I will spend more of money than I really want to on coffee and more time than I care to on dishes. Less and I really will be a hermit.

Therefore. For the moment. I’m sorted. I don’t want to change who and what I am. So I’m not going to. But if I wanted, I will do it in easily reached stages.

And now, the song this reminded me of…

And another song from that movie. I’ve never seen the movie, but the tunes rock πŸ˜‰

16 comments on “Change.

  1. Change is as good as a holiday. That phrase only belongs to those who sees the change as a good thing. Not all changes are good, like you said. There are different kinds, some to be made in longer segments than others. I usually just like change in environments. Nothing else. . . . πŸ˜‰ If people tend to change all the time, they stay strangers all the time. Then you have to get to know them all over again for the benefit of one person as apposed to, what, hundreds of others?That’s not good, hey? I don’t believe so . . . Thanks then for deciding on staying who you are! πŸ˜€

    • Also true H. Also true.
      I try and keep my attitude on an even keel. But the minute I feel that the other person is humouring me or condescending, it changes immediately.
      And then I’m the Devils’ own sister!!

    • of course I adapt chickpea. Not easily, but I manage. but this change thing is kind of killing me actually.
      it’s almost as if, in changing, you’re calling yourself and who you are rubbish. And I’m NOT rubbish, no matter what all the men out there think of me!!

      • It’s not the change that makes me feel crap.
        It’s the idea that I’m not good enough, and therefore have to change that’s causing the crap feelings.
        Then again, might have to take my fingers out my ass then I won’t feel crap anymore πŸ˜‰

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes … turn and face the … | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Here, in my neck of the woods we say, ‘change is as good as a rest’. This means a change a breather, a change of scenery, a change of pace.
    As far as changing for anyone but yourself, only do it if it pleases YOU.
    I haven’t heard The Commitments for more years than I can count. Thanks, Ghia. good memories–music-wise anyway–can’t recall too much of anything important.

    • Glad you liked the tunes Tess πŸ˜‰
      I’m thinking I might have to see the actual movie sometimes!!
      As for change, I’m not harming anybody by being my morosely, negative self when I’m on my own at home. And when I am with humans, I try to either not speak at all, or to smile as if I’m windy.
      But for the most part, I can live with myself πŸ˜‰

  4. Pingback: Thoughts on Change: Let’s Go Places | Wiley's Wisdom

  5. Pingback: Letting It Go – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  6. Change is good as a holiday- only if you can’t afford it. This all depends on whether is voluntary or not. Right now I need to change jobs and thats good but if I got fired, that change is bad!

Leave a Reply

