Music.

The Daily prompt.

What role does music play in your life?

Good question that.

As far back as I can remember, music has been a part of my life.

I learned to play the piano – took lessons until we moved to the rural area in 1984. Never did any theory, and I’m an adequate player – not a performer. But I can appreciate a well played piano, hear the nuances in a violin concerto, understand the practice and drive that goes into playing them well.

Dad sang in a choir. We spent many pleasant evenings in the Johannesburg City Hall. A huge pipe organ, philharmonic orchestra, the works. Every so often, he, Dad, would put on a favourite of his, be it Glen Miller, or Oklahoma or Showboat, My Fair Lady… He loved his musicals.

Then, as teenager, pop music was my thing. The 80’s. The last decade for decent music if you ask me!! I remember going nuts about Adam Ant, Olivia Newton-John, Soft Cell, Joan Jet. Taping music on a hand held tape recorder from a little yellow transistor radio, screaming at everybody to be quiet!!!

As I’ve grown older, my music taste did not so much change, as evolve into something that covers the whole spectrum, although I have a hard time listening to Rap & R&B. Kwaito does not work for me, and neither does most country tunes, although I can actually listen to them without wanting to slice my jugular. Angry young men like Linkin Park and Perfect Circle, not so much. Death metal? Don’t think so.

I don’t have a favourite genre, or even just one favourite tune. I have most things on my playlist – from Benny Goodman and Dave Brubeck through to Mozart and Adele.

The role music plays in my life?

Quite frankly, I think I would have been long gone had I not had my tunes. Back in the day, my tunes were the only sound to be heard in the house. No kids, no other people. Just me and my tunes. Even these days, it’s mostly just me and my tunes, but I’m much better able to handle absolute silence, so it’s not that big a deal.

The thought of never again hearing Luciano Pavarotti’s sweet tones, or recall the memories Dave Brubeck’s tunes instills. Never again hearing Chopin played well, or Vivaldi sounding spectacular fills me with dread. To hear Always something there to remind me or Tainted love is to be transported back to a time when my life was good, and I could be anything, do anything. To hear Glen Miller is to bring my dad to life again. Unexpectedly hearing Modern Talking brings to mind the big halls we used to dance in when I was young. Silver Pazzoli always brings my ex to mind.

Music is an intrinsic part of everybody’s life I should think.

If it is not, how on earth do you survive? How do you keep your memories alive, both good and bad? How do you exist without hearing a melody that has the power to transport you through the ages to a time in your life when things were, if not better, then at least different than they are now.

I often hear a song, and I dream. About things that may be. Things that I hope for. Things I long for.

 

 

 

25 comments on “Music.

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical Role in My Life | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Waiting for the Gift of Sound & Vision | The Mercenary Researcher

  3. Pingback: The Only Drug With No Harmful Side Effects – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  4. Isn’t it amazing the power music has to bring back a scene from the past, or create a mental picture in the present. Those who are able to appreciate many genres are fortunate indeed, because each has its own charm. Rhythm and blues, opera, rock, folk, symphonic, chamber, choral, solo, jazz – they all widen horizons. I agree, though, that the ones relying on sheer monotonous beat and rhythm do not really engage the intellect much.
    This is a really good selection!
    If one can cope with any instrument, however unskilled or rusty one may be, there is a unique thrill in making the music oneself which is worth keeping up.

    • I have a little bit of everything on my playlist – sometimes I can struggle through all of them, but some tunes just irk me πŸ˜‰
      But a fine piece of harmonics has ever had the power to transport me to a different place – such is the power of music πŸ™‚

  5. I loved your song and video
    I get inspiration from music
    I am always listening to happy tunes
    Music can change feelings
    You can talk by playing the right song
    Have a wonderful weekend
    β•”β•—
    ║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *
    β•‘β•šβ•£β•‘β•‘β•‘β•‘β•©β•£* Daniel angel from Cape Cornwall
    β•šβ•β•©β•β•©β•β•©β•β•.*.*

    The way she makes me feel
    Goose bumps covering my body,
    Shivers down my spine,
    My body tingles from top to toe,
    My god, she’s Divine.
    Perspiration on my brow,
    In habitations fled,
    Thoughts of her, and all she does,
    Running round my head.
    All my thoughts and feelings,
    Deep inside of me,
    Waiting for that special moment,
    When she comes and sets me free.
    To some this may seem silly,
    And not such a big deal,
    But then they’d need to realize,
    It’s the way she makes me feel

    • You’re so right Daniel.
      Music does change things. Bring peace to your soul, help you through hurt, make memories come to life.
      Cool song by the way πŸ˜‰
      Hope your weekend is great too!!

  6. I want to sing well with all my heart. Not to be a professional of famous, just to be able to carry a tune. I’m blaring out my favourite song singing my little heart out in traffic, it makes me feel better.

    • I’m lucky, I can carry a tune – sang to my mom for her b day this morning, but I’m not a performer by any means – prefer to do my singing away from people πŸ˜‰
      I could not even sing this morning – was completely dead.

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  8. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Murdering It On Karaoke Night” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

