How’s this!!!

I’m chuffed!

Remember the radio show that they removed from air?

Well. Today I got an e mail back from them saying that it has been reinstated.

Of course I was not single handedly responsible for that, but I definitely had a part to play in their decision.

 

This is the second e mail I sent them on Monday…

 

I don’t think the people that made this utterly ridiculous decision had any idea of what they were destroying.

And I don’t use that word lightly.

They have no idea of the community of people that will be affected by this. The kind of person that found solace in the kind of music that was played every Saturday night.

This is about much more than just a stupid programming change.

This is the end of an actual way of life for many people.

And I’m presuming the focus groups contained everybody BUT the people currently listening to the show.

The broader 702 audience – are with their families on a Saturday night.

Or at a club somewhere.

Or they don’t even KNOW about the Solid Gold weekends – I myself have spoken to many regular, weekly 702 listeners that had no idea of the Solid Gold weekends.

As with everything, I realise there is not a single thing I can do about this.

I can rant and rave with the best of them, but the powers have spoken.

Suffice to say that I will in actual fact now not be listening to 702 anymore. The kind of management decisions that’s being taken without any regard for the people that has to abide by that decision does not fill me with anything good.

You may lose many listeners.

You may lose none.

I don’t know, and they probably don’t really care.

Β But they need to be aware of the impact they had – and even just a silly radio show is seriously indicative of the society we currently live in.

Β And I always thought 702 would not bend under the pressure to become more mainstream – shows how wrong I was!

Ghia

 

This then made for a very good day πŸ˜‰

Only thing is – after the Bandstand there was a jazz show. And it looks as if Mr Van Dyk will not be afforded the same courtesy as Ms Moore. And that is also sad. Watch this turn into a racist thing – because Mr van Dyk is a coloured gentleman from the Cape and Ms Moore is a white lady from Scotland. Ms Moore is being reinstated, but not Mr van Dyk. Oh woe is me – living in a society that this thought will even cross my mind!!

Still.

I’m chuffed. I can listen to my show again on a Saturday night – don’t have to go and find a man to do anything with πŸ˜‰

16 comments on “How’s this!!!

    • Go to the radio on Saturday evening, at 7 pm. Turn the dial to 92.7. You will hear what I’m talking about.
      And why I was so upset when i heard that i would not hear it again πŸ˜‰
      But thanks for the congrats πŸ˜‰ i so deserve it!!

  1. And there you were asking me what point there was to highlighting problems we are encountering here in SA!!
    Good for you for even sending them emails to complain. One may possibly assume that they also got faxes (do they still fax?) SMS’s and telephone calls from similarly minded people.

    The joke has given me the ideal comment when someone has more items than they should have. Not sure how many slaps I’ll get but it should be entertainng to fellow shoppers.

    • I would like to think that my letters had something to do with it Paul, but i think it was the sheer number of responses they got that made this decision happen.
      But you’re right. It might seem like a drop in the bucket, but every little drop eventually fills the bucket πŸ˜‰
      Let me know in which shop you are – this I would like to witness πŸ˜‰

  2. Good for you, Ghia! It’s nice to hear of SOME institution that reverses its decisions after people complain. That is extremely rare in ZA these days.

Leave a Reply

