Sleg

A good word to describe me this weekend.

Sleg is an Afrikaans word loosely meaning bad. Fruit can go sleg – off. A “slegte mens” is a bad person.

It also epitomises my laziness this weekend.

Meaning, I did not do a single constructive thing this whole weekend.

Farted around online. Read blogs. Got pissed off at the moderators on the one dating site i dared to write something on. Got chatted up by a dude online. Never lifted my ass off the desk chair. Other than to go and make coffee. Did not even bother to go make food or anything – had a bowl of cup a soup last night with two slices of bread.

Such “sleg”-ness!!

Do I feel guilty? Sure, I suppose a bit – I have lots of things to do. Should do.

Maybe next weekend πŸ˜‰

And now for something completely different.

Every Saturday night for the past however many years, I’ve spend in the company of Eleanor Moore and the Bandstand. Lovely tunes from years gone by, made me feel closer to my dude and our memories, and it was just quiet, relaxing time. Spent in the bath for the most part with a book to keep me company.

Last night I heard that they are replacing the Bandstand hours with more Solid Gold rock n roll. To say I was pissed off would be a misnomer! This has been the only reason for me to even listen to 702 over weekends – I have all the Billboard 100 songs from the 60’s right through to the 2000’s Β – don’t need a radio station to listen to that. But the old classics, I don’t have too many of those. And it gave me a sense of kinship with other like minded people. To know that a whole bunch of us are listening to this every weekend, a select few I suppose, but we were there together. On Christmas eve. New year’s eve. She would keep us company. The Rat pack would sing up along. Billy Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, Duke Ellington, Charles Aznavour, Della Reese.

And now it’s all over! am I going to bother listening to 702 from here on out? Probably not. On many weekends, the only reason for me to even switch on the radio was to listen to the Bandstand. I don’t do rock n roll. Not even old rock n roll.

What am I going to do with my Saturday nights now? Β  Go out? probably not. I’ll likely switch on Classic FM and listen to those tunes. Or watch a movie.

I know change is a capricious being, always happening, always certain. I just wish she would give me enough warning before turning my life upside down!!

16 comments on “Sleg

  1. I wish I could have had such a weekend. Mine’s been way too busy for my liking.
    As for the music, I’m sure if enough people tell them that they actually enjoy it, they might bring it back

    • I doubt it.
      There are more people listening to crap these days than to actual music.
      And can you imagine the old fogies listening to their rock & roll tunes all night.
      i’ll just not listen to 702 ever again, as easy as that.

    • I was stunned when I heard the news. Don’t suppose there’s anything I can do about it, but I will not be listening to 702 again.
      They have lost a faithful listener in doing this.

  2. You know; I’d feel the same way if our ‘community broadcasting station’ was no longer available… The D.J’s (on weekends) play all the old songs (such Elle, Frank, Tony, etc.). I/we love it/them…. They better not ‘disappear’ or I’ll; well I’ll… well I’ll probably feel pretty bad….
    Bugger; means looking for something new… Maybe romance for you…! Hopefully, romance… Get those expectations down, girl…
    I hadn’t heard ‘Simply Red’ sing this song…. Wonderful, wonderful..! I have made myself a cuppa whilst listening…
    Second time listening; and watching some pretty poignant images….

    • Hey Carol!!
      I don’t know if romance is on the cards for me. If it is, I’ll grab it with both hands, never fear πŸ™‚
      As for the radio station, I’m completely ticked off about that!!! I’m sure they did not do any research whatsoever, and apparently, they just don’t give two hoots about the listeners who did listen.
      The Simply Red song is just beautiful – sometimes I cry when I listen to it, so sad πŸ˜‰

  3. Ag nee wat, don’t feel ‘sleg’ about being ‘sleg’ see it as “me-time”! I do. Spent the WHOLE day in bed yesterday – reading, sleeping, staring into space, drinking wine etc. It was necessary πŸ™‚

    • You and I are waaay too much alike πŸ˜‰
      And you’re right – it’s not always necessary to be jumping around and be busy the whole time!!!

  4. Sleg, you say? I’ve been that since the New Year. Hope to get off my butt soon. Anyway, what’s wrong with hanging loose after working all week?

    I know life is about change and I’m fine with that. What gets me in a tizzy is favorite things that you get used to, the GOOD things: like YOUR program, a preferred lipstick color I’m finally happy with, a nice Galgon after shower mist, a moisturizer that actually works, etc.—gone, gone, gone.Why does someone always have to be ‘tinkering’ with everything? WordPress is another one. I’m being told my current page has been updated but I don’t want to change what I have. And so on, and so on.

    • Some changes I just live through, never really bothering with it.
      The radio station sent me a reply to the e mail I sent them on Saturday night – all about how they would not expect any less from their listeners and that the decision was not taken lightly – I replied to that – it’s not just a show that was cancelled – a whole community sprang up around those shows. FB pages, weekly meetings, that kind of thing. And I really loved the time spent while listening to the show. I will not be listening to that radio station anymore. This is not change. This is a willful destruction.
      I suppose tinkering is the way humans move along, not become stagnant. But I do think at least some things should be a constant!

Leave a Reply

