Weekly photo challenge

My 2012 inย Pictures

2012 was not a year I would remember fondly.

Being unemployed for 6 months of it, constantly worried about my house and the utility bills does not make for fond memories. Trying something to make some cash, and have people negate it off hand, also not a good thing to remember. Having to rely on the kindness and largesse of your family for your daily living, not a good thing.

There were not only bad things, this I know.

I will place pictures of them. I hardly ever take pics, and when I do, I tend to forget I took them ๐Ÿ˜‰

But here goes.

My remembrance of the times when life was somewhat worth the effort of getting up in the morning!

536392_3554411866189_776944209_n

 

My son’s graduation day. A proud moment in any mom’s life. Means that, even if you have screwed up a lot, you did not screw up everything. That, even in the face of adversity, your kids can still shine like the bright stars they were meant to be.


IMG_1167My 2 celebratory birthday drinks. One solitary, one with company. Both quite enjoyable, if under different circumstances. Suppose there comes a time in everybody’s life that you have to realise and deal with the fact that your birthdays will become increasingly solitary endeavours, and that it’s up to you to celebrate yourself, even if no one else is willing or able ย to help you celebrate.

IMG_1152

 

My lovely breakfast toy run. A day I will not soon forget, and it all came about with me taking the bull by the horns and accepting an invite from a relative stranger. Had I not done that, I would have missed out on anย opportunity of a lifetime!!

IMG_1133

 

A few of my more successful instagram efforts. I’m having loads of fun with this program – the minute I can use my credit card again, I will be downloading more filters so I can really start playing. It’s a good way of making something extra-ordinary out of a perfectly ordinary photo. Even my son has commented favourably on a few of my attempts – and that is high praise indeed ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_1037

IMG_1030

IMG_1014

IMG_1061 IMG_1068 IMG_1071 IMG_1076 IMG_1096
IMG_1111
IMG_1194 IMG_1200 IMG_1212 IMG_1234 IMG_1283 IMG_1281

How hot it’s been lately…

IMG_1117

 

 

My usually, solitary braai. Or BBQ if you don’t know what braai means. This is what I sometimes do, money and means permitting. Get a few pieces of meat, light a fire, prepare a shandy, and then I sit under my huge tree in my back garden, the strains of Solid gold permeating the afternoon air, mixing with the lovely flavours wafting from the grill. Just enjoying my solitude – because I can!!

IMG_1199

 

A picture I took one afternoon, after work, trying to describe tranquility. When the day is done, you’re home, and take a sip of a fresh cup of coffee, all peaceful in the spot that soothes your soul, the place where the world’s issues can be kept at bay, as long as you don’t listen to the news ๐Ÿ˜‰

IMG_1041

 

A good Christmas was had this year. No fighting, although that was probably because I bit my tongue more than once. Not that I’m a fighter of any sort, my mouth just sometimes runs away from me on the odd occasion. Goes to show that silence is mostly best ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

IMG_1273 IMG_1267

 

 

 

 

 

 

And last, but not least, the most perfect sunset clouds I saw yesterday afternoon.

IMG_1290

Hope you enjoyed spending time with me and my less than memorable year.

I am at least working now, and will continue doing so until at least the end of June – then we will see what happens next.

Life has a way of turning out unexpectedly strange or good within a matter of weeks…

May 2013 hold more good than bad, and the changes that will inevitably happen be not as jarring as change can sometimes be…












IMG_1014

16 comments on “Weekly photo challenge

  1. Heita, forget about the bad, it strengthened you, remember the good but do not live by it, and generate yourself to make 2013 better. All my best wishes for you when 2013 strikes in. You have it in you. Hugs.

    • Thanks H ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Even though the bad this year almost broke me, I’ve survived, and will hopefully continue to do so for a while still.
      I mean, still have to meat the partner of my soul, not so?

    • Recognising the good during the bad times is the only reason people get up in the morning chickpea.
      I had to train my mind to see good, even though it felt everything was falling apart around me.
      Hope it will be so for all of us ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. My 2011 was like yr 2012, no job and was homeless for parts of that year. Awful year but it strengthened me as well since it didn’t break me and will be the same for you. Go from strenght to strenght my dear. My favourite picture, that lovely coffee cup, my favourite place is my garden w my cuppa… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That was my biggest worry – not being able to pay my bond, and lose my house. I could not let that happen at any cost!
      At least I made it through, to live to tell the tale ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Hope 2013 brings me what i need, and the same to you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • The graduation was indeed a good day Col – a real proud moment ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thanks for complimenting my instagram attempts – i’ll get better as time progresses ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

