I might…

…just have the best son in the world!!

Today was a good day. had a bit of a rocky start what with unhelpful men such as my dear brother-in-law, but I bit my tongue, and kept my mouth shut – today was not the day to start a fight.

The food was great!! My mom outdid herself completely. We only finished eating at 14:00. Only had the pudding at about 4! To put it mildly, we were all stuffed to the gills with food, glorious food!!

To get back to my son. I put it out there that I’m in the market for new PC speakers. Not really expecting it to happen, I know it’s not a cheap item, and we’re all kind of strapped for cash most of the time πŸ˜‰ However, and I don’t know how he managed it, but he got me a set of Thonet & vander computer speakers. I’m listening to them now – such a welcome change from the crackling I’ve endured for the past few months! Can’t believe the sound coming from these two tiny little speakers!!

And he wrote me a little note. Where he stated that, sometimes, he wishes things were different, and sometimes he wishes things will never change. And that he’d rather be standing in the deepest misery himself than to see his mother cry.

I don’t quite know what made him write that – might have been after one of my lower episodes, but it is appreciated. Just makes you realise that even if your kids are big, they still appreciate you.

The poor youngest one is not having such a good time in J-Bay as he’d thought he’ll have. Apparently the crown he’s with is constantly either drunk or stoned – neither of which he does. Poor thing. Β Still, for some things only experience will let you realise where your best interests lie. Maybe he can persuade them to come home earlier than planned, otherwise he will have to suck it up and learn from this.

The stuff I gave my sister’s kids have gone over well – they seem to be impressed with the toiletries they now have πŸ˜‰ of course, the toiletry bags I made them are being used to carry their toys in – suppose it will eventually end up in the place where all toys end up – a box, hidden away in an shed somewhere… Oh well. It’s theirs now, so they can do with it what they like.

Tonight the status quo is changing. You know how, as parents, you bundle the kids in the car and off everybody goes to watch the lights everywhere? You see to it that there’s something to nibble on, and something to drink, and off goes the whole family for an outing. And, when you, as somebody’s kid yourself, packs mom in the car to go and show her the lights. You make sure there are nibbles and drinks, and off you go to show mom a good time.

Well, tonight I will be the mom being taken out for a good time ;-). I will be bundled in the car with nibbles and drinks, and taken off to see the lights in Loly street in Waterkloof. Β Think it’s time for me to take out my crocheted knee blanket, and dye my silver hair purple?

I’ll be sure to take the camera along and take as many pictures as I can, all for your viewing pleasure. Just so you can see what Christmas lights looks like without a layer of snow on them πŸ˜‰

All in all a good day. I got cool gifts, things I can actually use, and tonight I will go on an outing with my kid and the new partner who’s still trying to impress me πŸ˜‰

Long may the good feelings last!!

Hope your day was as good, if not better, and that it will follow through into the new year.

Long days and pleasant nights…

 

10 comments on “I might…

    • Mom asked us if it is not in vlagmotel street πŸ˜‰
      Had such a laugh!!
      But the lights were quite lovely, even if it was a tad rainy last night πŸ™‚

    • The speakers are great!! Love them!
      As for the kid – I’m glad he turned out the way he has – I either did something right, or not too much wrong πŸ˜‰

  1. What a wonderful present!
    My son couldn’t afford a present for me (having not got a job yet after graduating), but gave me a lovely card with polar bears on it and cooked a very tasty prawn stir fry for me to come home to on Christmas Eve, between me singing carols at the Grand Hotel and Midnight Mass. He also did all the washing up on Christmas Day πŸ™‚

    • Gifts don’t have to cost any money Sarah – a clean kitchen is a great gift in an of itself. And food cooked by somebody else – a great gift too. He seems a well put together young man to realise that money is not always everything πŸ˜‰
      Believe me, I have no idea where he got the money for the speakers from, and I’m not going to ask either – he’s a big boy, and should be in charge of his own fate.

Leave a Reply

