And we’re still here…

…it would seem.

Well, the 21st has dawned in South Africa, and the heavens did not fall. The sun is not sending blinding flares our way – well not more than usual. The rain last night stopped just before it would have turned into a flood of some kind. Looks like the Mayans might have gotten hold of the arse end of the donkey on this one. At least, I HOPE they did!!

Many years ago I came across a book called The Fingerprints of the Gods. The guy had a theory about Atlantis. Very interesting book. Even me, who don’t much like reading facts actually read through it a few times. And in there he mentions the 21 Dec 2012. When I read the book, the date was very far in the future, but I always wondered what, if anything would happen. Seems all my unspoken fears may be unwarranted.

That being said – they day has only just started here in my neck of the woods, so anything can still happen šŸ˜‰

The eldest sends me a whatsapp last night – just telling me he loves me – just in case šŸ˜‰

Last night saw me making the pudding for Christmas day. A bombe. With ice cream and swiss roll and marachino cherries and caramel condensed milk and nuts – think it’s going to be a taste explosion. Because it gets melted chocolate covering it once you take it out of the mould. Perfect way to end off one of my mom’s properly cooked meals I would say!

My baby is at this moment driving down to the coast for his holiday. I’ve been getting updates from him through the night, but it would seem that the phone’s battery died – can’t get hold of him. Can only hope that everything’s allright so far. They should be seeing the ocean in the next few hours if all goes well. Kind of a big thing actually. Having your baby go off on holiday without you. Makes you realise that the kids have now really grown up. You’re not quite as needed as you once were – something every parent has to go through I suppose.

Still. In this case a problem shared does not make a problem halved. It’s something that you have to work through on your own, and knowing that there has to be many others out there that had to deal with the same things, does not make it that much easier. Probably something only time can fix – eventually.

Just got another message – at 10 am, Jeffrey’s Bay had better look out!! One young Ghia will be arriving, taking the land by storm šŸ˜‰

Whatever you do, do it well…

 

14 comments on “And we’re still here…

    • If you’re that close to your kid, it’s probably going to be worse for you Mik!!
      I’ve sort of cut the tethers from a young age – I knew how much of a wrench it will be when they left…

  1. Us parents do, do that ghiatjie. That Christmas pudding of yours sounds too divine!
    I’m looking out the window, everything still looks normal…so I’m thinking its going to be ok šŸ™‚

    • It should be OK Esperanza – for now at least šŸ˜‰
      As for the pudding, It’s going to be SWEET!! Making a condensed milk chocolate sauce for it as well – decadence personified!

    • I licked out the bowl I did the mixing in – it was quite divine šŸ˜‰
      I came across a traditional SA recipe this morning – thought I might make those little cookies as well – always time for a spot of sweetness šŸ˜‰
      Enjoy your baking!!

  2. We’re invincible hey, we’ve survived the “Rapture” and the end of the world according to the Mayans. Nothing can stop us! šŸ˜‰
    The pudding sounds amazing! Enjoy it!

    • Yes well, about that – we have actually not survived the Rapture – I think there will be no uncertainty when it does arrive.
      All we survived was humans doing what they do best – talk crap and make other people believe in it…
      I have to agree with you on the pudding being amazing – I got to lick out the bowl I mixed it in šŸ˜‰

    • Now that you mention that Sarah, I think the world’s not been in one piece for a very long time – we’re broken I think.
      But we still have time to maybe fix the brokenness in some way – I hope!
      The pud’s delicious šŸ˜‰ Why not make your own for Christmas Day?

  3. Was wondering this morning what all those people with websites etc. that proclaimed the end of the world feel like now… a little stupid, I think šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

