Do I?

Feel guilty that is?

I thought I should maybe attempt the Daily prompt for once.

A guilty pleasure that you hate to love.

The question is, for me, Do I feel guilty?

When I buy a chocolate bar, or melt half a slab in a cup of hot milk? Nope, I don’t.

If I buy a magazine, do I feel guilty about it? Nope, I don’t.

If I spend a bit of cash on a lovely shade of nail polish, Β or a new eye pencil. Nope I don’t.

Reason being, I’ve made sure that everything’s paid that should be paid. I don’t take from Arthur to pay Martha. The money I spend is my reward for being me. I work every day. Don’t I also deserve a spot of spoiling?

For many years my life was filled with children and their needs. A husband and his demands.

Now, it’s only me. I’ve paid my dues to society. It’s my turn now.

Never again will I have to feel guilty because I loathe cooking – nobody needs me to feed them anymore.

Never again will I feel bad for buying myself a cool shirt – my children can now buy their own.

Never again will I feel guilty for playing my tunes a tad louder than needed. It’s only me in the house now.

I might feel guilty for downloading kindle books and pay for it with the credit card. But not for too long. Reading is more than just a pleasure. It’s the thing that keeps me sane. That allows me to fly away and share somebody else’s life, even if only Β for a while, and even if only in my fantasies.

I suppose if I dwell on everything that’s happened in my life, I could very well feel guilty dor some of the things I’ve done. And if I let it, I do.

At the end of the day though – does that make any difference to my life now? Will me feeling guilty change anything? Indeed, it will. It will rob me of the simple pleasure of eating a chocolate. Of reading a book. Of walking in my garden.

Therefore, I try not to do things that goes against my grain – because that WILL make me feel guilty – because I’ve disappointed myself. And that’s not a good thing to do.

I will take life’s little pleasures where I can find them.

And I refuse to feel guilty doing something that I enjoy.

Because I know I don’t do it often, I don’t harm anybody, and really. Life’s way too short to sweat the small stuff!

18 comments on “Do I?

  1. Great post. Was trying to think of what to respond to today’s prompt and it dawned on me that I don’t really do anything I feel guilty about anymore. I’m comfortable in my skin – I do the things I want to do, and don’t do anything I know I shouldn’t be doing. Life is too short to go around worrying about things like that anyway. Definitely sounds like you’ve earned and deserved whatever little pleasures you take now.

    • Same here – I was thinking, what do I do that I feel guilty about doing?
      And I realised, nothing!!
      I’m done with feeling guilty about the things I do – it only hampers you, and if it really bugs you, just don’t do it again πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for reading, and commenting – much appreciated πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: CHASING FRIENDSHIPS « hastywords

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Guilty Pleasures I Hate To Love | My Blog

    • Try it Ruth – it’s divine!!!
      Has to be milk chocolate though – dark chocolate does not work as well, but it’s absolutely decadently delicious πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

