Hic…

That’s me, after one drink.

Such a cheap date!

Decided that, since it was my b day and all that, I might as well go and have a celebratory drink tonight.

And after I got my bread and lighter, I did just that – at our little shopping complex there’s a pub of some kind. Parked off there in the late afternoon sun, jacks and ice and water, smoke in the one hand, gorgeous phone in the other, and celebrated my birthday – because I can πŸ˜‰

had a whole bunch of surprising phone calls today – one from my cousin in Afghanistan that shares my b day with me – was good to hear from him. Many folks wishing me on FB, whatsapp – it was not a bad day all things considered πŸ˜‰

Today, at work, the chick whose stuff I did while she was sick, was back. The old man still brought me a letter to type though. And said that he and the FM will talk to me tomorrow. I can only hope that it will be a good talk – I’m sure he would not have given me something else to type if I was all that bad! And I also hope that there will not be a conflict of interest should they offer me an actual job instead of that of being SP – Spare Person. Although I can do that just as well too ;-). As long as I get paid, and have a job for longer than a month at a time, Β I’ll do most things!!

Kid phones me just now. The eldest. Tonight is the end of an era in South African broadcasting. Riaan Cruywagen, the very first newsreader on SABC television 37 years ago had his last broadcast. He’s been a constant through all the years. Perfect diction in both Afrikaans and English, whereas it would seem that to be a news reporter these days, you just have to have a basic knowledge of diction. Β Or the spoken language for that matter. And this goes for both Afrikaans and English. Sometimes you can’t even hear what they say. And this is across the board. People just don’t speak properly anymore!Β Anyhow. Poor kid was quite emotional about this being the last broadcast of such an icon. Must say, if it was not for the fact that I’m nice and tipsy now, I would have been emotional about it as well.

Everything changes, and not always for the good.

But then again, the only constant is change. We will just have to learn how to accept it.

Oh well. Life will continue in much the same way. Death and destruction. Nothing new…

18 comments on “Hic…

  1. Hi J! I was going through my calendar when I realised that it’s your birthday today. I’m quickly popping in to wish you all things beautiful, today and always. Many Happy Returns. Enjoy…xxx

    • Just a tad more than a few blocks πŸ˜‰
      Thanks for the wishes Sir John!!
      And the round offer – I think I’ll take you up on it when I get to the States one day πŸ˜‰

  2. What a nice recording that and I hope that regardless you still enjoyed the day and that the first day of your new year will bring the joy and happiness for the hole year ahead.

  3. Cheap drunk!! Here I thought you’d be able to teach me how to handle my drinks πŸ˜‰
    Glad to hear that the day was at least decent!
    Such a shame that Riaan is retiring, he really is a legend…

  4. Glad the day went well, and of course you’re not alone. You have all of us. πŸ™‚ Sad to hear that Riaan is retiring. Was he pushed, or did he jump? You’re so right about the new breed of newsreaders. I’m afraid bagpipes just don’t do it for me. πŸ™‚

    • I’ve had more wishes on cyberspace than I knew I had people AD πŸ˜‰
      As for Riaan – he’s only 63 – just retiring. But he really was the embodiment of the newsteam for many years – I grew up with him πŸ™‚
      I don’t generally do bagpipes either, but I thought it fit the occasion somewhat πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks Tess!!!
      I hope so too πŸ˜‰
      The photo is supposed to be a video, and the closest I’ve ever been to Scotland was by talking to a Scots woman πŸ˜‰

  5. Hope everything went well with the workplace talk. I know what it’s like to live with that kind of uncetainty – not nice.

Leave a Reply

