Leningrad.

Was listening to the news just now.

And it seemed like something from a bad movie.

Rockets being shot from Israel to Palestine. Being intercepted by batteries. I am almost 44 years old – that war has been happening for as long as I can remember. Can they really not find common ground? Do they enjoy shooting the shit out of one another>

Farm workers striking, demanding double their salary, burning vineyards. I sat a while, worked it out. If a farmer has only 10 people working for him, it’s currently costing him R 700 per day. R 4900 for a 7 day week. R 19600 for a 4 week month. At more than double that money, he’s overheads rise with R 22400. That’s a major amount of money. One of 2 things, or maybe 3, Β is going to happen. He’s either going to make his grapes hellishly expensive. Or he’s going to lay off half his people, get machines in to do the rest of the work. Or he’s going to throw in the towel and call it quits. Β In all 3 scenarios both him and the wekes lose. Yes, R 70 per day is not a lot of money. Maybe try for a gradual increase though, something that’s not going to kill everything in one go.

Then I heard a government person say the following. Helen Zille is a white madam. And a compound is not a word that should be used in conjunction with JZ’s huge living quarters. According to him a compound is somewhere that a rich, white farmer, living in his palace, has built for his wekes, and they then live in the compound. You silly ass. A compound is anyplace that’s got walls around it, where people of like mind live together. I lived in a compound when I was in Iraq. Foreigners working in Saudi lives in a compound. What baffles me the most about this is that this person, that should be in the know, and realise that really, not all white people are rich, and certainly not all farmers, and he can blatantly spout such rubbish? After all this time? Can I still wonder why there are such a huge divide still between white and black? can anybody blame me for not seeing much positiveness or prosperity coming from this country? with Government officials as dense as this person at the wheel of things, I only see chaos.

Can we maybe stop the constant war? Get on with maybe trying to live our lives?

I smelled braaivleis just now – summer seems to be in full swing here in Snor City!!

10 comments on “Leningrad.

  1. Be patient we are almost at the bottom of the pit and then after that things will improve, but not before the bottom has been reached. As for the Middle East the Arabs need Israel in order not kill each other and Israel need Arab hostility in order not to differ too much from each other in Jewish fashion.

    • the world is broken H.
      I really wish I could remove myself completely from society. Live in a place that’s so desolate nobody wants it for anything, Maybe then I’ll have some kind of peace…

    • Does not seem to be the case AD.
      A big reason why I try my best to avoid listening to it,
      then again, one has to sort of know what’s going on, otherwise they’ll blindside us!

      • Maybe, living in a desert. far from the madding crowd.
        Where does that phrase come from – will have to go Google it πŸ˜‰
        Read something tonight on FB – Be respectful to older people – they graduated without Google and Wikipedia πŸ˜‰ Sent it to my kids – they have to know this πŸ™‚

      • it would seem that culture has stuck to me πŸ˜‰
        Even if only in a phrase πŸ™‚
        And I bet you did not even have to go Google it!!
        Respect is yours AD πŸ˜‰

  2. Re: Hellen Zille is a madam…. This is maybe slightly inappropriate but I like the Pieter-Dirk Uys scene where the kugel character (what’s her name again?) comes out onto her house in Sandton to find lots and lots of squatters on the lawn: “Dumelang, sawubona, molweni everybody πŸ™‚ I’m Comrade Madam from the Big House…. πŸ™‚
    Maybe Helen should just go ahead and call herself Comrade Madam. Give them what they want πŸ™‚
    I know I’m doning that. Introducing myself as Comrade Madam form the Big House πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

