The weekend gone by…

Quote of the Day – Robert W. Service – “Be sure your wisest words are those you do not say.”

Got home just in time yesterday to rescue the dry washing form a major hail storm. Me, and the dried clothes were safely inside by the time the storm hit. And what a storm it was!!! The hailstones were not all that big, but they came down with a mighty wollop, and caused any number of damage to my poor plants. Looked like snow there was such a lot. Apparently on the east rand the stones were as big as cricket balls – decimated and acquiantance’s house and windows – quite a destructive force the weather. At least nothing too major happened here. The plants will heal – that’s what they do.

I was supposed to get a domestic here yesterday – she never pitched, so I climbed in, folded about 5 washing baskets worth of clothes, packed it all away – my room looks like a new place for the first time in months!! Packed away all the shoes that I never do – they just stand there, ready for me to pick a pair in the morning! but I could not live like that any longer, so everything is now in it’s proper place once again. Dinkie arrived today, and she can hopefully iron the few things that has to be ironed. Then I can pack that away too, and all will be well.

Went shopping with mom yesterday for proviand. That would translate into provisions for those of you not of my language. Got quite a few specials at Checkers, so now my cupboards are well stocked with all manner of things.And for the first time in many years, my trolley was full enough for a ride ;-). Which I duly did at my advanced age – it was just wonderful!! Not too long a ride – the last time I did that I came short most magnificently!! Still have the scars to show for that little bit of fun! Still. Some things are worth doing, even if you do take a spill every so often πŸ˜‰

The nails have been painted blood red for the coming week – now all that’s left to do is the gathering of wits to start the new week with.

Do hope the weekend treated you as well as can be.

22 comments on “The weekend gone by…

    • Can imagine you don’t H πŸ˜‰
      Then again, you may have no hail, but you do have that everblowing wind and Cape Town drivers… Think I’ll take a hail storm every few years or so!!

  1. We didn’t even get a drop of rain on our side of the world!
    I love riding on a trolley, still do it at every chance I get, it doesn’t matter if the trolley is full or not πŸ˜€

    • It was indeed a fun weekend πŸ˜‰
      Although, my poor bones are so not used to shopping!! I obviously don’t do enough of it to get fit πŸ˜‰
      Hope your weeks is just as great – btw – does the doc know what caused the squeak yet?

  2. I’ve never seen hail. Although, I’m not wishing for one right now.

    You seem happy…a great way to start the week. Have a great week ahead! πŸ™‚

    • I am pleasantly content Grace πŸ˜‰
      As for never having seen hail – it comes from the heavens like rocks and pokes holes in any resistance. And we get it relatively often – be glad you don’t have it there. Then again, you have snow which I have never seen πŸ˜‰

  3. I am glad that you could get the washing in the house in time! The weather is really strange! It is still full-on winter in Cape Town!! Enjoy the week!

  4. I live to fill my cupboards, especially if a storm is coming (in winter). I have no idea where that comes from; my mother never did that. Glad to hear your cupboards are full.

    Blood red nails mean success. When I was small my mother abhored them; I loved them. Sad to say, my nails have never been luxurious enough for red polish. I believe your nails looks fabulous!

    • Suppose it’s the gatherer in you coming out πŸ˜‰
      As for the nail polish, you’d be surprised how even short nails looks luxurious with it. As long as they are all the same length – lovely!!

Leave a Reply

