Frivolity.

 

Cute song this.

I’ve been wondering though.

How would it feel to meet somebody completely inappropriate. You know he’s bad news, but there’s something about him that just draws you in. Make you throw caution to the wind and jump in with both feet.

Of course, you’ll have to be very careful – guys like that has a way of ruining a respectable woman’s life completely.

But I can’t help thinking that a fling of this kind might be good for you. A week. Ā 2 weeks at the most. Just a jolly roller coaster ride filled with exhilaration and adrenaline.

And, when it ends, countless sleepless nights and curses and tears and buckets of ice cream.

Because end it will. It must. There’s no keeping a guy like this. He’s there for a while to have fun with, and he needs to be gone before it gets too risky. And even in that there’s a kind of attraction.

Fortunately, or unfortunately, depending on your viewpoint, I’ve come to a stage in my life where I listen to men, and not take a single word to heart. I do not get emotionally involved to such an extent that my life is ruined when he leaves. So, the chances of me having the exhilaration and adrenaline rush I want from a guy like in the song, is almost zero.

Because to feel that, you have to be wholly immersed in the experience. And that’s something I don’t allow myself to be.

I have way more than my self respect to lose.

Still.

It’s a cute song. And what would life be without a spot of frivolity every so often šŸ˜‰

 

4 comments on “Frivolity.

  1. Ghia, you’re right. Without full immersion in the relationship, the adrenalin rush can’t be like what it sounds it might. Too bad you can’t have a go, though, to build up your confidence right about now.

    • Me being the cynic that I am, I would love the duration, but will always be aware of the possible aftermath – and that would stop the immersion šŸ˜‰
      I do think it would be fun! I think I’ll just hold on to the thought rather than the reality. It so often sucks anyway!!

Leave a Reply

