Hmmm…

 

Today was a bit of a bust.

Lots to do, did nothing.

And now, I have to think about writing something. Even if only to keep the brain relatively agile.

Became a charity case today – mom’s church bought me food… Don’t quite know how to handle that one! On the one side there’s gratitude – everything I get from other people is something I don’t have to buy myself, freeing up my cash to stopper a hole or 2. On the other side there’s absolute mortification. Embarassment. Hurt pride. Neither one feelings I have the luxury to indulge in. Not in my situation. Then again, if you don’t feel them, what has become of you? Will I become one of those people waiting for handouts? Standing at intersections with a board around the neck, scorched by the sun and the wind, expecting other working people to help me earn a living?

No.

I won’t be that person. I will feel bad about getting food from other people. If I don’t, I will have no incentive to not be there anymore.

I’m only worried that it becomes easier to accept hand-outs every time you get them.

On a lighter note. Woke up this morning with this song in my head – have no idea why – have the CD, but have not listened to it in ages!!

Maybe my sub conscious telling me something?

One never knows!!

Enjoy what’s left of Friday 😉

10 comments on “Hmmm…

  1. I was always taught never to look a gift horse in the mouth. Definitely no need to feel embarrassed, 68. I’m sure you’ve helped out others in the past. Now it’s your turn to collect. The tide will soon turn for you. Hugs xx

  2. ditto above 🙂 Michael Buble is one of my favourites, I saw him from a distance at Kirstenbosch a couple of years ago. Great showman 🙂

  3. Bury your pride in your deepest pocket. Now is not the time for pride to get in the way. Accept peoples help graciously and pay it forward by giving of yourself and time if you can’t afford the cash.

    • I accept the help Sar. I will never throw people’s good intentions back in their faces – I was brought up better than that.
      As for pride, it will never be gone. It’s only pride that keeps me going sometimes.When it feels as if the whole world is just waiting for you to fall, pride keeps me up so they never know how bad it really is.

Leave a Reply

