On being handy…

…and an unemployed female.

Over the weekend, I got a bee in my bonnet and decided to finish my dressing table. I’ve been using it for a good while, without handles on the drawers. Since it was white, and then blue at one stage of it’s life, I spent some time on getting it ot it’s original wood – looked spectacular. While it was blue though, it had modern silver handles on the drawers. After all the paint was removed I saw what the original handles looked like from the outline in the wood. Who took it off and when that happened, I had no idea, but the old people were strange creatures.

So, this is what it looked like before I completed it on Sunday.

And this is what it looked like after. With all the tools still there – before cleanup. Not to mention the dog that sat next to me on the carpet the whole time I was working πŸ˜‰

With a during close up.

Reason for this post is the following.

Of course I posted a picture on FB using my gorgeous iPhone. Had to brag with somebody!!

And today my stalwart friend, Helen, suggested I rent out my handywoman services to other females that might be in the same boat as me, but without the know-how on how to fix their own stuff. Or, they might not want to paint their own walls, or find the idea of changing a plug or hanging a picture not too their liking.

I’m not a realy handyman. I can’t really build or do anything major. But the little things that needs doing in a house? I can do those. But not many females can. And there are any number of them out there that either can not or will not do the menial things that men usually do.

Then they go look for a handyman, and I, personally, have met one of them that thought – “Aha!!! A lone, recently divorced woman! Ripe for the plucking – she’ll be an easy mark…” Fortunately for me, he was just a random arsehole and I was quite happy with not having a man at that stage so I did not fall for his wiles – but how many other women has he caught?

And that’s what Helen suggested I target. Females that don’t really want random men on their premises. That would rather have a fellow woman do things that she can’t do herself.

Of course, me being a female myself, I can already see thatΒ most females are not quite comfortable with other females being more capable than they are, and as such might not want that kind of service.

So.

From a female perspective.

Would you pay another chick to paint your walls, or restore your old chair? Or declutter your house?

This is what Helen wrote on my FB page just now…

So test the waters with friends and neighbours whilst ya still “unemployed” …. as I say, think & PRAY about it … You have a HUGE amount of TALENT in MANY areas – maybe now is the time to tap into the resources our Lord has provided you with ……

27 comments on “On being handy…

    • Such confidence!!
      I just got rid of the old paint that was on there H. Did not take the whole thing apart or anything like that! I’m happy with the way it looks, but I don’t know if anybody else will..
      Still. I like my little spieΓ«lkas πŸ˜‰
      And thanks!!

  1. Very good idea! Not only that, consider restoring antiques. My cousin’s wife (what is that, cousin-in-law?) had an antique shop. You seem to have a real knack for this. Imagine, buying up people’s old baby cots and bookshelvers and making things of beauty out of them.

    As for painting walls & putting up light bulbs – honestly? I’d rather pay a woman because I get the impression she might not break stuff where a man may.

    • Much as I would love to spend my days making old stuff look good again, where would I sell those things?
      And where on earth do I start marketing something like this?
      Financial output?
      This is where I’m completely snookered!!

      • Uhm… you’re right. But vamping up stuff for people who vont it vamped up – that’s maybe an idea. Also, in the line of painting walls, interior decorating.
        Marketing for such work: I’d start with posters. We rely on poster “campaigns”, plastering every notice and community board in Pretoria. It’s kept us in students so far.

    • I am that AD, but do you think people would hire a woman to do things like this?
      And what would I call myself? Rent a husband πŸ˜‰
      I’ve always enjoyed working with wood, and restoring furniture is something that’s so worth doing…

  2. Beautiful!! I’d hire you for restoring antiques and other type furniture items, not sure I’d hire a “chick” for painting my walls though. No offense to you of course, but I feel better hiring men for that because then it appears impossible for a woman. πŸ™‚ If I hired you to do it, well…then I could have done it myself. haha. I’d rather claim the ol’ “I’m just a pitiful girl and need a manly touch for this hard, hard work” line so I wouldn’t feel so guilty and lazy. :-0

    • I thought that would be the case with many females πŸ˜‰
      As for restoring furniture – I’d have to say there’s nothing I like better than to sit, on my arse, on the floor in my garage, sanding and tooling away – until it’s restored to it’s full glory once again πŸ˜‰ The furniture, not my arse πŸ˜‰

    • Much fun to be had in fixing up old things.
      And living where you do I’m sure those things are not in short supply either!!
      Have fun πŸ˜‰

  3. very, very nice job there. Yes I’d pay a female to do handy jobs for me. It might make single gals or mum’s at home feel more at ease having a lady in their house. I say go for it.

    • I was thinking of marketing it in such a way that females can get me to come and do the things their menfolk don’t want to do πŸ˜‰
      Thanks Ruth – I’m particularly proud of that dressing table πŸ˜‰

  4. Dear 68,

    For all the women that wouldn’t hire you I think there’d be three more that would. She-hermits, old women living alone, anyone without a man in the house and probably many that DO have a man around (saddled themselves with a useless lump). It’s a good idea, worth doing some local research to find out if it would be feasible.

    Love Dotty xxx

    • Dear Dotty

      Thank you for your support πŸ˜‰
      You are quite right about the females that saddled themselves with useless lumps!
      I will difinitely give it a whirl and see what happens.

      Love Ghia

  5. I would definitely hire you! Another thing I would like to do, is hire a reliable person to go and do grocery shopping for me. I just hate doing that πŸ™‚

    • I usually don’t like doing it for myself – if I got paid to do it for somebody else though – bargain!! Retail therapy without the bite πŸ˜‰

  6. very good job.
    when I found myself without work at one stage i started making up the material I had bought for roman blinds. my sister told someone at her work, and i ended up making them for money almost immediately

    • I can even make roman blinds!
      My sis told me about some or other market at the Monument every month.
      I can knit lots and lots of sleepsocks. Can even make cool scarves and such – maybe people will buy it – it is after all winter…

Leave a Reply

