Satco B…

I’ve been thinking about my sojourn to Iraq a few years ago.

 

Satco B was the camp I stayed in.

Was just off the VBC – Victory Base Complex – so we were not under protection from aywhere.

The time I spent there have been some of the happiest of my entire life, despite the fact that there were armed guards at the very big, barred gates, Hesco’s and T-walls surrounding the whole camp, with barbed wire and guard towers in all the corners…

 

The clinic had a nice flat roof – basically the only fixed building in the compound – the living quarters was CHU’s – Contained Housing units – we called them Hooches.

Many a picnic was held on that flat roof. Food we got from the De-Fac – Dining Facility – cool drinks, and in my case, usually chocolate milk πŸ˜‰

I had to keep my pose when climbing off the roof – heights not being the thing that makes me happiest. But, when you’re immersed in testosterone like I was there, looking like a weak female was just not going to happen!! Especially not in front of the few other females there! I could handle being treated like a female by the dudes – had to be the towering bitch in front of other females though – just the way things are.

We had a bunch of Pakistani’s, Filipino’s and Sri Lankan’s doing our washing, the cooking, the cleaning – lots of people who’s only goal in life was to make life easier for the other expats there. You would put a little placard on the door – Please clean, or Don’t clean – then they would not come into the room. As for the washing, we bought a big laundry bag at the PX, you would put your dirty clothes in it, hand it in at the laundry and some random dude would wash your clohtes, dry it, fold it and put it back in the bag – ready for delivery tonight when you come back from work.

Β Β Β  a sandstorm at Satco B

Β  Me, driving my only left-hand drive vehicle ever πŸ˜‰

Β Β  The Eagle eye, on the ground.

Β Β  The closest I got to a Tank πŸ˜‰ After a manicure and a facial and a trip to the jewelery store at Camp Slayer – my Valentines day spoil, courtesy of my dude…

Β  Me and Sadam – well, a picture of him anyways πŸ˜‰

 

Trips to the Liberty PX was the equivalent of a night on the town.

They had the biggest PX there – you could buy anything from food to CD’s and electronics. I used to subsist on Strawberry Poptarts and chocolate milk πŸ˜‰

Not to mention the Cinnabons we got there. With a Cafe Mocha from the Green Bean.

I had my first burger King burger at the Liberty PX, as well as my first taste of Taco Bell – just loved it! I had always seen those things on TV and in the movies – still don’t quite know the difference between the lot, but I know I liked what we got there. It was all just junk food, but you have to remember, for a green South African, all these things were a look into a completely different world. Things I’d only ever read about, I could now taste and experience – and, for the most part, I enjoyed it.

 

My trip there has been on my mind a lot lately.

Probably because the money was easy, and I would still have been there if it was not for Mr van Schalkwijk – the world’s biggest arse. It was also where I met my dude, and I suppose that would still have been on the cards had I stayed there.

As it is, all I have left now is lots of memories and even more photo’s!

I hope you enjoyed this trip with me down memory lane – I have loads more pictures that might get shared eventually.

Do enjoy the day πŸ˜‰

 

16 comments on “Satco B…

    • Wish I could!!
      Life as an expat is not to be sneezed at πŸ˜‰
      Nope, if I want to go back to a warzone, it will have to be Afghanistan – Iraq’s not happening anymore…

Leave a Reply

