Monday's mirth…

Halloooo!!!

Anyone there!!!!

Feels kind of echoing around here these days.

Hope everybody is still going strong.

And that the weekend was tolerable, if not stright out good!

Well, for me it was quite an eventful weekend.

Got the pond finished.

Built up the sides, plastered the inside with another layer, and decorated the top with little stones.

Of course, it started raining just as we were done, and rinsed off all the cement ontop that holds the decorations.

No worries though.

I’ll get a bag of tile cement over the weekend and just redo that bit.

Or I’ll use glue and grouting 😉

Not many things you can’t fix with glue and grouting.

Same with soap and water, or paint and a brush!

It’s looking lovely!

Can’t wait to paint the waterproofing on it, and sort out the electricity.

Such a shame my electrician buddy disappeared – he would have been ideal for this.

I’ll just have to sort it out myself, one way or the other.

And, once it’s done, I’ll be having a frogpond initiation party 😉

As good as Saturday was, for my sister and BiL and that side of the family, it was not such a good day.

Their mom died on Saturday afternoon.

She’s been sick for many years.

Had glandular cancer.

Lived with it for many years, but at last she succumbed to the lure of death.

And even though it was expected, it does not diminish the finality of death.

Yet another life snuffed out.

Yet another family dealing with the loss and guilt and pain.

Alas. Death is not something we can stop or change.

It happens.

As for today.

I’m going to the dentist.

Have to sort out this tooth once and for all.

Just hope it does not cost me too much.

And nothing new on the jobfront.

I’m still not really allowed to work – wonder if another regime change will allow me to earn my bread and butter.

Because the current one is not working out so well.

Do hope the Monday brings only good things.

Forgot my glasses 
 

Yesterday my daughter asked why I didn’t do something useful with my time.  She suggested I go down to the senior centre and hang out with the guys.
 
I did this and when I got home last night I told her that I had joined a parachute club.
 
She said “Are you nuts?  You’re almost 70 years old and you’re going to start jumping out of airplanes?”
I proudly showed her that I even got a membership card.
 
She said to me, “You idiot, where are your glasses! This is a membership to a Prostitute Club, not a Parachute Club!”
 
I’m in trouble again and don’t know what to do!  I signed up for five jumps a week!
 
Life as a senior citizen is not getting any easier

0 comments on “Monday's mirth…

  1. Our poor seniors!!! Four screens this morning and only one blog – yours – the rest spam and spam and spam. None of that in WordPress.

  2. Sorry about the death in the family. Sounds like your pond is almost finished. Well done. Good luck at the dentist. xxx

  3. Still around, trying to get order in my life right now. BIL not too good…. 😦 WIll post a bit later.Got some catching up to do on the blog

  4. Sadly, it seems that if blogs haven’t gone dead lately then somebody connected with the blogger has.Starting with tooth, I hope things start coming right!

  5. hey hun!every time i am in the dentist chair i bawl my eyes out too! hate them with a passion!saw your pics, it is looking good! hope the rain didnt do too much damage!xx

  6. Luckily not too much damage ;-)As for the bawling – usually I don’t. Just handle it. But yesterday…Dunno what happened, but hey. Over gor now 😉

Leave a Reply

