Sweet Sixteen…

The Daily Prompt has this to say for itself :

When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

Go here to see more contributions to the theme.

 

When I was 16? Did I even think beyond what the next day would bring? New school, new place to stay, new people to get to know.

Could not take the subjects I wanted to, and truth be told, I can’t even remember what I wanted to be then!

Doubt that I had quite this life in mind though!!

I was loud, obnoxious, a little spoilt, very unsure of myself, but hiding it behind a bright facade, all the boys thought I was the shit, none of the girls liked me, never had a steady boyfriend…

Come to think of it, not much has really changed.

Girls still don’t like me, boys still do, no steady boyfriend, loud, abrupt, obnoxious, not as spoilt thought, hiding the uncertainties of my life behind the polished facade.

Who’d have thought.

It’s been 29 years (damn! I’m ancient!) and the who I was then is basically still the who I am today – wonder if that’s a good thing. Probably not. No growth. Although, not really no growth. Likely just a choice – be who I am. No excuses, no apologies. If you can get through the lesser good, the prize might be worth it ;-)

And, when I look at it from a different perspective, my life ain’t all that bad, even if it’s not quite a dream life…

14 comments on “Sweet Sixteen…

    • As lives go, mine are not at all bad – I realise that even with all the crap I sometimes deal with, it could have been a LOT worse!
      I’m allright, even if not ecstatically happy ;-)

  1. I’m glad you’re so honest about being that young! Some people literally lie to my face, when they tell me those boring stories about “Back in their day…” and whatnot. I would totally want to hang out with your sixteen year old self. Tell her I said hello! (: nerdwithtaste.wordpress.com

    • Exactly!!!
      although – you will never fall in love quite so spectacularly as you did then ;-)
      Such trust and conviction – quite makes this jaded cynic long for simpler times :-)

  2. Life’s a beach. As youngsters, without experience, what the heck did we expect? Who thought about expectations? Sounds to me you turned out better than some. Hope for the most part–and you do sound pleased with who you are deep down–you are happy.

Leave a Reply

