Always, only ever a dream…

The Daily Prompt today is the following :

You’re having a nightmare, and have to choose between three doors. Pick one, and tell us about what you find on the other side.

I suppose I do dream. Apparently everybody does. There was an episode of Supernatural where a Professor experimented on a young man that could not dream. Said young man got so involved in being able to dream, he chose to live his life in dreams rather than reality. Looks like dreaming is almost as important as sleeping.

That being said, I don’t often remember my dreams – be they good ones or nightmares.

And the nightmares I do have centres around one of my children being dead, feeling the loss of my father as keenly as I did when it just happened, or heights. The worst one is when I have to climb an enormously tall set of stairs with no landings. So I have to climb over the gaping chasm beneath me if I am to progress. Sometimes I fall, sometimes I wake up.

For the purpose of this post though, I’m having a nightmare, and are faced with a choice of three doors.

One door would lead me to the reality of my dream, forcing me to relive those feelings.

The next door will probably lead me to a place where it has not come to pass, and I might want to try and, futilely, stop it from happening.

So, the door I would choose would lead me to the following scenario. And be warned. It WILL be absolutely, unabashedly sappy.

My dream see?

I open the door. I see a log cabin, deep in the frozen wastes of Alaska or maybe Canada – have no idea where. Can only see snowy hills. White as far as the eye can see. I walk up to the cabin, open the door. A cheerful fire in the grate greets me. A long, low leather couch in front of the fire, thick pile rug in front of the couch. Hand crocheted throw over the back of the couch. A coat rack with a few thick, fur lined anoraks hanging on it, and some boots made for snowy weather. I step into the boots, wrap myself warmly in one of the anoraks, and walk out of the back door, leaving the fire and the warmth for the glory I can see in the sky.

The Aurora Borealis playing across the night. Blue and green and red, leaping and waving, changing colours and shapes. A wondrous sight. I hear somebody walking towards me, and an arm reaches around me to hand me a cup of hot chocolate. I recognise the hand. I recognise the smell that enfolds me when he wraps me tight from behind. Cradling me in his warmth.

And, in my dream, I smile. I am exactly where I want to be, with exactly the one person I want to be there with.

And it’s a good dream.

20 comments on “Always, only ever a dream…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: This Nightmare | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Haiku: Just A Dream… | Mirth and Motivation

  3. So when are you going to write a novel? First person, present…great piece of composition there…maybe the closing paragraphs of a novel? And now (in 50-60K words) I want to know how you reached your dream place ;-)

    • Thanks Sarah ;-)
      I’ve thought so often of writing my real life love story down, I’ve just never had the knack of fleshing things out to reach that many words!!
      You’re right though – that would be a perfect ending to any book ;-)

Leave a Reply

